Page Areas:

Additional Information:

Campus Map

Hier den Alternativtext zum Bild eingeben!

This is where you can find us on campus! ...  more of Campus Map (Titel)

Position Indication:


About Us

University Senate Duties and Responsibilities:

The University Senate at the Johannes Kepler University is responsible for the following:

  • Submit and amend JKU Linz statutes as proposed by the Rectorate;
  • Submit and alter the curricula pertaining to academic degree programs and post-graduate programs;
  • Take part in post-doctorate and professor appointment procedures;
  • Approve the 'Development Plan';
  • Elect members to the University Council;
  • Take part in electing the university Rector, particularly creating a triple proposal for the University Council to elect a Rector taking the Selection Committee's proposal into consideration;
  • Appointing collegiate bodies who have or do not have decision-making power, creating guidelines for collegial body activities such as approving the implementation of resolutions by decision-making collegiate bodies:
  • Creating a working group for equal opportunities

Composition of the University Senate

The Academic Senate at the Johannes Kepler University Linz consists of 26 university faculty members, each elected for a three-year term of office. The distribution is comprised of all university employee groups and is as follows:

• 13 representatives of university professors;
• 6 representatives of university associate professors and academic faculty;
• 6 student representatives;
• 1 representative for general university personnel.

Academic Senate Term of Office:

October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2019