Ars Electronica 2022 -
Welcome to Planet B

Artificial intelligence, robots, multi-media installations: Future technologies are already accessible today. Visitors experienced it all for themselves at the Ars Electronica Festival in "Kepler's Garden" at the Johannes Kepler University Linz.

The event will feature exhibitions, concerts, talks, conferences, workshops, and guided tours in Linz and at 120 other locations around the world on the topic of: Welcome to Planet B - A Different Life ist Possible. But How?, opens an external URL in a new window  It is a festival in search of answers as to what our life on this planet has to be like so that we can prevent the ecological doomsday. What kind of action do we have to take and what kinds of consequences do we have to ultimately accept.

The Festival Center at the JKU makes all of this a hands-on, excting experience at the Kepler Hall, at the Learning Center, and at the Circus of Knowledge. These are the main stages where science, art, and technology comes together.

The Ars Electronica Festival

Location

Johannes Kepler University
Altenberger Straße 69
4040 Linz

Dates

September 7, 2022: 1.00 - 7.00 PM
September 8, 2022: 10.00 AM - 7.00 PM
September 9, 2022: 10.00 AM - 7.00 PM
September 10, 2022: 10.00 AM - 7.00 PM
September 11, 2022: 10.00 AM - 6.00 PM

Program Highlights

We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Impressions from the Opening Ceremony

JKU Projects at the Festival

30 inventions per 100,000 residents. This statistic places Linz well above the average in Austria. Linz is the UNESCO City of Media Arts and plays a leading role in developing cutting-edge technologies and materials. Much of the work takes place at the Linz Institute of Technology (LIT) at the JKU where research, innovation, and artistic expertise come together. Once again, this year's Ars Electronica Festival will provide a stage for selected LIT projects and installations that give us a glimpse into a unique, interdisciplinary body of work.

 

Black Holes of Popularity

The world of music is dominated by a small number of popular titles. These popular titles are broadcast, recommended, shared, and frequently discussed, thereby overshadowing - and literally devouring - many lesser-known niches and new music compositions. Visitors to the "Black Holes of Popularity" exhibition will travel into the heart of the music world to help obscure compositions of their choice come to light and ultimately resist black holes of popularity.

 

A project by A.B. Melchiorre, O. Lesota, M. Schedl, F. Schubert, M. Moscati, D. Penz, E. Dobetsberger, J. Usorac, S. Pile, A. Ebner

Hosting Institute: Institute for Computational Perception

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] blackholes LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Melody of Crisis/Joy

Climate change, pandemic, war - these concepts and headlines immediately conjure up negative emotions and responses. But when it comes to environmental, health, and humanitarian crises, can we elicit positive emotions, such as solidarity? By providing an audiovisual atlas of online community reactions, "Melody of Crisis/Joy" sheds light on how global crises impact our society. This AI-powered installation is an interactive experience in automatically recognizing negative and positive reactions, and then transforming these reactions into distinguishable melodies of despair/joy.

 

A project by Gregor Pechmann, Florian Rothkegel, Markus Schedl, Alexander Wallner, Emilia Parada-Cabaleiro, Vasco Fragoso, Theresa Rubenzucker

Hosting Institute: Institute für Computational Perception

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] Melody of Crisis LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Co-Existing with the SARS-CoV-2 Virus

This installation aspires to transform the nanoscale of a striking biological phenomenon - the relationship between the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus and human molecules - into an interactive, audiovisual simulation. Using atomic force microscopy (which can touch and image a single molecule), this installation measures the interaction data between the spike protein SARS-CoV-2 and human cell proteins. We will create an interactive, audiovisual installation performing from a series of interactive data. The audience will be invited into an immersive space to control the biomolecules' behavior so that they can intuitively recognize biological properties. This installation is not only a demonstration of scientific data, but also attempts to explore the relationship between species in parasitism.

 

A project by Yoojin Oh, Sabina Hyoju Ahn, Myungin Lee

Hosting Institute: Institute for Biophysics

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] Coexistens SARS LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Re-Wasted

We usually consider plastic products and packaging as waste of the future and by implication, plastic products are usually the epitome of a linear economy. This installation has been designed to critically examine just how we use plastics and reveal that what we think of as waste can actually be the start of a new cycle. Visitors are encouraged to interactively experience a closed loop cycle - from waste processing to manufacturing new products - using injection molding and robotic 3D printing.
 

A project by Martin Reiter, Jörg Fischer, Johannes Braumann, Florian Nimmervoll

Hosting Institute: Institute of Polymer Product Engineering

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] re-wasted LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Ars for Nons

Why create art for non-humans? "Ars for Nons" has created a space for "non-humans", "nons", to dive into "Ars", an interactive work of art. Over the past decades, the Ars Electronica Festival has encouraged the use of technology to create art for society. "Ars for Nons" is an installation that deconstructs this equation by creating art for technology, which is essentially already part of our society. Art is not made by non-human technology for humans, but uses technology for "non-humans".

A project by Lea Luka Sikau, Denisa Pubalova, Michael Artner, Julia Wurm

Hosting Institute: LIT Secure and Correct Systems Lab

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] Ars for nons
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Spin Wave Voices

"Spin Wave Voices" is an installation that gives us the opportunity to explore, feel, and interact with an emerging technology. Spin Waves are one of the options to replace transmitting electronic charges in computing devices, making information processing faster and more efficient. Simple pedal activation begins to excite the Spin Waves in one of various, different-shaped microstructures, giving you an opportunity to see and hear Spin Wave Voices and, depending on their shape, see how they evolve and differentiate.

 

A project by Santa Pile, Martin Gasser, Christina Humer, Silvan David Peter, Andreas Ney, Verena Ney

Hosting Insitute: Institut für Halbleiter- und Festkörperphysik

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] Spin wave LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

BODIE:S

BODIE:S is an interactive installation addressing the underrepresentation of different body shapes and identities. Using simple, basic geometric shapes, an algorithm generates unique pictograms that are then displayed on a three-panel screen and printed on sticker paper. The installation is wrapped in ceramic tiles displaying the pictograms, giving visitors an opportunity to experience each individual pictograms. BODIE:S encourages visitors to actively shape the way public spaces are identified, designated, labeled, and marked.

 

A project by Lisa Caligagan, Johannes Traun, the Paracetamol-Kollektiv

Hosting Insitute: Institut für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] BODIE:S LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

I Hear Future Voices

"I Hear Future Voices" is an artistic reflection of AI-based, voice-assistant interaction. "I Hear Future Voices" questions the way AI-based voice-assistant systems impact and influence human life, both in the present and in the near future. Backed by scientific research in the field, the installation provides artistic insight into how voice assistants are used in everyday life. The three constitutive elements in this visual project catapult the viewer into disparate realities between utopia and dystopia.

A project by Nives Meloni, Julian Pixel Schmiederer

Hosting Institute: LIT Robopsychology Lab

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

[Translate to Englisch:] Future Voices LIT Projekt
We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

Transforming Sound and Material

Planet B was mankind's last resort. The first set of trees have been planted but water continues to be scarce. In an effort to extract raw materials, bubble columns are being used to create the required reaction processes. Instead of Earth's 'world of steel', production is now a part of nature, featuring a quiet zone and an extraordinary soundscape similar to an underwater world. Changing constraints, such as the availability of sunlight for example, require a greater degree of plant flexibility by means of adaptive geometries. Changing transmission paths also plays a key role. New transmission paths often result in signal processing delays, including broadcasting music. Dive into the future and play along!

A project by Mark Hlawitschka and Moritz Simon Geist

Hosting Institut: Institute for Process Engineering

Click here, opens an external URL in a new window to learn more.

We would like to point out that when playing the video, data may be transmitted to external parties. Learn more by reading our data privacy policy
Data protection information

ARCHIVES

A look back at the 2020 Ars Electronica Festival

Ars Electronica 2022 - Welcome to Planet B

Künstliche Intelligenz, Roboter, Multi-Media-Installationen: Technologien der Zukunft heute schon angreifbar. Das erlebst du beim Ars Electronica Festival in "Kepler's Garden" hautnah am Campus der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz.

Ausstellungen, Konzerte, Talks, Konferenzen, Workshops und Führungen in Linz und an 120 weiteren Locations rund um den Globus zu einem Thema: Welcome to Planet B - A different life ist possible. But how?, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster Ein Festival auf der Suche nach Antworten, wie unser Leben auf diesem Planeten aussehen muss, damit wir den ökologischen Supergau verhindern können. Welche Handlungen müssen wir setzen und welche Konsequenzen in Kauf nehmen.

Das Festivalzentrum am Campus der JKU machte das alles live erlebbar - in der Kepler Hall, im Learning Center und im Zirkus des Wissens. Das waren die Hauptbühnen für die Verschmelzung von Wissenschaft, Kunst und Technologie. Zum zweiten Mal war die Ars Electronica auch in hybrider Form erlebbar. 

Ars Electronica Festival - A New Digital Deal

Wo

Johannes Kepler Universität
Altenberger Straße 69
4040 Linz

Wann

07.09.22: 13.00 - 19-00 Uhr
08.09.22: 10.00 - 19.00 Uhr
09.09.22: 10.00 - 19.00 Uhr
10.09.22: 10.00 - 19.00 Uhr
11.09.22: 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Highlights des Programms

Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Eindrücke von der Eröffnung

JKU Projekte beim Festival

30 Erfindungen pro 100.000 Einwohner*innen. Damit liegt Linz weit über dem österreichischen Durchschnitt. Sie ist die UNESCO City of Media Arts und spielt eine tragende Rolle in der Entwicklung modernster Technologien und Materialien. Viel davon passiert am Linz Institute of Technology (LIT) der JKU, wo Forschung, Innovation und künstlerische Wissensvermittlung vereint werden. Das Ars Electronica Festival ist heuer wieder Bühne für ausgewählte Projekte des LIT, die einen Einblick in dieses durchwegs interdisziplinäre Arbeiten geben. 

Black Holes of Popularity

Das Universum der Musik wird von einer kleinen Anzahl populärer Titel beherrscht. Sie werden ausgestrahlt, empfohlen, geteilt und besprochen und überschatten die vielen weniger bekannten Nischen- und neuen Musikstücke und verschlingen sie regelrecht. Die Besucher der Ausstellung "Black Holes of Popularity" werden in das Herz des Musikuniversums reisen und die Möglichkeit haben, obskuren Kompositionen ihrer Wahl zu helfen, ans Licht zu kommen und schwarzen Löchern der Popularität zu widerstehen.

Ein Projekt von A.B.Melchiorre, O.Lesota, M.Schedl, F.Schubert, M.Moscati, D.Penz, E. Dobetsberger, J.Usorac, S.Pile, A.Ebner

Hosting Institut: Institute for Computational Perception

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

blackholes LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Melody of Crisis/Joy

Klimawandel, Pandemie, Krieg. Diese Begriffe rufen sofort negative Reaktionen hervor. Aber entstehen aus Umwelt-, Gesundheits- und humanitären Krisen auch positive Emotionen wie Solidarität? Durch einen audiovisuellen Atlas der Reaktionen der Online-Community klärt Melody of Crisis/Joy auf, wie sich globale Krisen auf unsere Gesellschaft auswirken, und bietet ein KI-gestütztes interaktives Erlebnis, bei dem negative und positive Reaktionen automatisch erkannt und in unterscheidbare Krisen-/Freude-Melodien umgewandelt werden.

Ein Projekt von Gregor Pechmann, Florian Rothkegel, Markus Schedl, Alexander Wallner, Emilia Parada-Cabaleiro, Vasco Fragoso, Theresa Rubenzucker

Hosting Institute: Institute für Computational Perception

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Melody of Crisis LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Koexistenz mit dem Virus SARS-CoV-2

Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Nanoskala eines bemerkenswerten biologischen Phänomens, der Beziehung zwischen dem Spike-Protein des Coronavirus und dem menschlichen Zellprotein, in eine interaktive audiovisuelle Simulation zu verwandeln. In dieser Arbeit werden die Interaktionsdaten mit Rasterkraftmikroskopie gemessen, die ein einzelnes Molekül berühren und abbilden kann. Wir erstellen eine interaktive audiovisuelle Installation und Performance basierend auf den Interaktionsdaten, damit das Publikum das Verhalten der Biomoleküle kontrollieren kann.

Ein Projekt von Yoojin Oh, Sabina Hyoju Ahn, Myungin Lee

Hosting Institut: Institut für Biophysik

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Coexistens SARS LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Re-Wasted

Kunststoffprodukte und -verpackungen werden in unseren Köpfen normalerweise als Abfall der Zukunft angesehen und implizit sind Kunststoffprodukte normalerweise der Inbegriff einer linearen Ökonomie. Diese Installation soll den Umgang mit Kunststoffen kritisch hinterfragen und zeigen, dass das, was wir als Abfall betrachten, der Beginn eines neuen Kreislaufs sein kann. Besucher können interaktiv einen geschlossenen Kreislauf von der Abfallverarbeitung bis zur Herstellung neuer Produkte mit Spritzguss und robotergestütztem 3D-Druck erleben.

Ein Projekt von Martin Reiter, Jörg Fischer, Johannes Braumann, Florian Nimmervoll

Hosting Institut: Institute of Polymer Product Engineering

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

re-wasted LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Ars for Nons

Warum Kunst für jemand anderen, als für einen Menschen schaffen? Ars for Nons schafft einen Raum für "Nichtmenschen", "Nons", um in "Ars", ein interaktives Kunstwerk, einzutauchen. Seit Jahrzehnten fördert das Ars Electronica Festival die Schaffung von Kunst für die Gesellschaft mit Technologie. Die Installation „Ars for Nons“ dekonstruiert diese Gleichung: Sie schafft Kunst für Technik, die im Grunde schon Teil der Gesellschaft ist. Kunst wird nicht durch nichtmenschliche Technologie für Menschen gemacht, sondern mit Technologie für "Nichtmenschen".

Ein Projekt von Lea Luka Sikau, Denisa Pubalova, Michael Artner, Julia Wurm

Hosting Institut: LIT Secure and Correct Systems Lab

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Ars for nons
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Spin-Wave-Stimmen

Die Spin Wave Voices-Installation ermöglicht es uns, diese aufkommende Technologie zu erforschen, zu spüren und mit ihr zu interagieren. Spin Waves sind eine der Optionen, um die Übertragung elektronischer Ladungen in Logikgeräten zu ersetzen, um die Informationsverarbeitung schneller und effizienter zu machen. Mit einer einfachen Pedalaktivierung ist es möglich, eine Anregung von Spin Waves in einer von verschiedenen Mikrostrukturen unterschiedlicher Form zu starten, Spin Wave Voices zu sehen und zu hören, wie sie erscheinen, sich entwickeln und sich je nach Form unterscheiden.

Ein Projekt von Santa Pile, Martin Gasser, Christina Humer, Silvan David Peter, Andreas Ney, Verena Ney

Hosting Insitut: Institut für Halbleiter- und Festkörperphysik

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Spin wave LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

BODIE:S

Die interaktive Installation BODIE:S thematisiert die Unterrepräsentation unterschiedlicher Körperformen und Identitäten. Ein Algorithmus generiert aus einfachen geometrischen Grundformen einzigartige Piktogramme, die auf einem dreigeteilten Bildschirm dargestellt und auf Stickerpapier gedruckt werden. Die Installation ist in Keramikfliesen gehüllt, die individuelle Piktogramme anzeigen und erlebbar machen. BODIE:S ermutigt damit die Besucher*innen, die Kennzeichnung öffentlicher Räume aktiv mitzugestalten.

Ein Projekt von Lisa Caligagan, Johannes Traun, Paracetamol-Kollektiv

Hosting Insitut: Institut für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

BODIE:S LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

I Hear Future Voices

I Hear Future Voices – Eine künstlerische Reflexion über KI-basierte Sprachassistenten-Interaktionen. I Hear Future Voices ist hier, um die Macht und den Einfluss von KI-basierten Sprachassistenzsystemen auf das menschliche Leben zu hinterfragen, sowohl in der Gegenwart als auch in naher Zukunft. Unterstützt durch wissenschaftliche Forschung auf diesem Gebiet bietet die Installation einen künstlerischen Einblick in den alltäglichen Gebrauch von Sprachassistenten. Die drei konstitutiven Teile dieses visuellen Projekts katapultieren den Betrachter*innen in disparate Realitäten zwischen Utopie und Dystopie.

Ein Projekt von Nives Meloni, Julian Pixel Schmiederer

Hosting Institut: LIT Robopsychology Lab

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Future Voices LIT Projekt
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

Transforming Sound and Material

Der letzte Ausweg für die Menschheit war Planet B. Die ersten Bäume wurden gepflanzt: Wasser ist immer noch knapp. Zur Gewinnung von Rohstoffen werden die notwendigen Reaktionsprozesse in Blasensäulen durchgeführt. Anstelle der alten Stahlwelt auf der Erde gelang es, die Produktion in die Natur zu integrieren und eine Ruhezone mit einer außergewöhnlichen Geräuschkulisse ähnlich einer Unterwasserwelt zu erzeugen. Die sich ändernden Randbedingungen, zum Beispiel die Verfügbarkeit von Sonnenlicht, erfordern eine Flexibilisierung der Anlagen durch adaptive Geometrien. Darüber hinaus spielt die Veränderung von Übertragungswegen eine wichtige Rolle. Neue Übertragungswege führen oft zu Verzögerungen in der Signalverarbeitung, auch bei der Musikübertragung. Tauch ein in die Zukunft und spiele mit!

Ein Projekt von Mark Hlawitschka und Moritz Simon Geist

Hosting Institut: Institut für Verfahrenstechnik

Mehr Infos gibt es hier, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Transformation of Sound and Material
Wir weisen darauf hin, dass mit Abspielen des Videos u.U. Daten an Dritte übermittelt werden. Weitere Infos finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung
Datenschutzinformationen

ARCHIV

Das war das Ars Electronica Festival 2020