Go to JKU Homepage
CDL-VaSiCS
What's that?

Institutes, schools, other departments, and programs create their own web content and menus.

To help you better navigate the site, see here where you are at the moment.

Christian Doppler Labor VaSiCS

Welcome to the Christian Doppler Laboratory for Mastering Variability in Software-Intensive Cyber-Physical Production Systems (CDL VaSiCS)

The CD Lab aims to conduct applied basic research focusing on methodological support for mastering variability in Software-Intensive Cyber-Physical Production Systems (CPPS). A key focus lies on the automatic handling of variability, e.g., analyzing existing CPPS artifacts from the design process of CPPS to automatically extract and model variability information and generating and configuring target artifacts, especially to better support system evolution and future changes in software and hardware platforms as well as tools. 

Our industry partner is Primetals Technologies, opens an external URL in a new window.

The financial support by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs, the National Foundation for Research, Technology and Development, and the Christian Doppler Research Association is gratefully acknowledged. We also want to explicitly thank our industry partner Primetals Technologies and the Upper Austrian Government.

Christian Doppler Lab VaSiCS

Address

CDL VaSiCS, LIT CPS Lab
Johannes Kepler Universität Linz,
Altenberger Straße 69
4040 Linz

Location

LIT Open Innovation Center (Ground Floor)

Heads

Univ. Prof. Dr. Rick Rabiser
Univ. Prof. Dr. Alois Zoitl

Phone

+43 732 2468 4363

Info

CDL VaSiCS Team

Research

Publications of the CD Lab VaSiCS

Research

Open Positions and Theses (PR, Bachelor's, Master's)

, opens an external URL in a new window

Christian Doppler Research Association

, opens an external URL in a new window

Linz Institute of Technology

, opens in new window

Land Oberösterreich

, opens an external URL in a new window

Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs

News & Events

News 05.12.2022

SE 2023 Student Research Competition

Submissions of 2 members of CDL VaSiCS, Elene Kutsia and Philipp Bauer, were accepted at the Student Research Competition of the Software Engineering Konferenz 2023. Both submissions are based on their Bachelor's theses and have been peer-reviewed by renowned researchers. Despite just being at the end of the Bachelor studies, both students will present a poster at this scientific conference. Congratulations, we are very proud of you!

* Philipp Bauer: Analyzing and Refactoring the Modularization of IEC 61499 Systems. Student Research Competition Poster. Software Engineering 2023, GI, 2023.

* Elene Kutsia: Clone Detection in IEC 61499 using Metainformation. Student Research Competition Poster. Software Engineering 2023, GI, 2023.

News 16.11.2022

VaMoS to Odense

We congratulate Shubham Sharma and Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah (and all co-authors) for getting their papers accepted at the 17th International Working Conference on Variability Modelling of Software-Intensive Systems (VaMoS 2023) to be held in Odense, Denmark, Jan 25-27, 2023. Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah also got a talk accepted, in which he will present a paper of his which was already published in 2022.

Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah, Kevin Feichtinger, Antonio Manuel Gutiérrez Fernández and Rick Rabiser: Dynamic Product Configuration User Interface: A Vision Motivated by the Cyber-Physical Production Systems Domain.

Shubham Sharma, Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah, Antonio Manuel Gutiérrez Fernández, Rick Rabiser and Alois Zoitl: Modularization Technique to Support Software Variability in Cyber-Physical Production Systems.

(Talk) Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah, Kevin Feichtinger, Kristof Meixner, Lisa Sonnleithner, Rick Rabiser and Alois Zoitl: Towards Multidisciplinary Delta-Oriented Variability Management in Cyber-Physical Production Systems.

News 19.09.2022

CDL VaSiCS and LIT CPS Lab at SPLC 2022

From Sept 12-16, 2022 we presented 4 papers, 1 tool demo and 1 tutorial at SPLC 2022 hosted at Technische Universität Graz:

Sayyid (Fadhlillah) presented his doctoral symposium paper on multidisciplinary variability management for cyber-physical production systems.

Antonio (Gutierrez) presented joint work (w/ Ana Eva Chacón-Luna, David Benavides and Lidia Fuentes) on a study design for the analysis of variability management in industry.

Dario (Romano) presented joint work (w/ Kevin Feichtinger, Uwe Ryssel, Danilo Beuche and yt) on transforming the universal variability language to pure::variants (https://www.pure-systems.com/) and back.

Chico Sundermann ThomasThuem Jose A. Galindo David Benavides Kevin Feichtinger Sebastian Krieter and yt gave a tutorial on the Universal Variability Language (UVL), a core result of the MODEVAR (https://modevar.github.io/) initiative.

Sayyid (Fadhlillah) presented our (Kevin Feichtinger, Philipp Bauer, Elene Kutsia, yt) tool demo on V4rdiac, tooling for multidisciplinary delta-oriented variability management in cyber-physical production systems.

Kevin Feichtinger presented joint work (w/ ChicoSundermann ThomasThuem and yt) on classifying information loss during variability model roundtrip transformations.

SPLC 2022 Group Picture
News 21.07.2022

Summer Teambuilding Event

Switching the office for a lake

Zur JKU Startseite
CDL-VaSiCS
Was ist das?

Institute, Schools und andere Einrichtungen oder Angebote haben einen Webauftritt mit eigenen Inhalten und Menüs.

Um die Navigation zu erleichtern, ist hier erkennbar, wo man sich gerade befindet.

Christian Doppler Labor VaSiCS

Willkommen auf der Webseite des Christian Doppler Labors Mastering Variability in Software-Intensive Cyber-Physical Production Systems (CDL VaSiCS)

Im Christian Doppler Labor VaSiCS forschen wir an der Beherrschung von Variabilität in Software-intensiven Cyber-physikalischen Produktionssystemen. Wichtig ist uns dabei vor allem der systematische und automatisierte Umgang mit Variabilität, z.B. die Unterstützung der Analyse bestehender Systemartefakte aus dem Engineeringprozess um automatisch Variabilitätsmodelle abzuleiten, das Generieren und Konfigurieren von Zielartefakten und die Unterstützung von Systemevolution.

Industriepartner des Labors ist Primetals Technologies, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster.

Wir bedanken uns für die finanzielle Unterstüzung durch das Bundesministerium für Digitalisierung und Wirtschaftsstandort und die Nationalstiftung für Forschung, Technologie und Entwicklung sowie die Christian Doppler Forschungsgesellschaft. Wir möchten uns auch explizit bei unserem Industriepartner Primetals Technologies und dem Land Oberösterreich bedanken.

 

Christian Doppler Labor VaSiCS

Adresse

CDL VaSiCS, LIT CPS Lab
Johannes Kepler Universität Linz,
Altenberger Straße 69
4040 Linz

Standort

LIT Open Innovation Center (Erdgeschoss)

Leitung

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Rick Rabiser
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alois Zoitl

Telefon

+43 732 2468 4363

E-Mail

vasics@jku.at

Info

CDL VaSiCS Team

Forschung

Publikationen des CDL VaSiCS

Forschung

Offene Stellen und Arbeiten (PR, Bachelor, Master)

, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

Christian Doppler Forschungsgesellschaft

, öffnet eine externe URL in einem neuen Fenster

Bundesministerium Digitalisierung und Wirtschaftsstandort

CDG Logo , öffnet eine externe URL

Laborinformationen auf der Seite der CDG

News & Events

News 14.12.2022

Zweijahresevaluierung bestanden: Christian Doppler Labor VaSiCS verlängert

Mitte November wurde unser Christian Doppler Labor VaSiCS wissenschaftlich evaluiert. Im davor eingereichten Evaluierungsbericht haben wir sowohl die Forschungsergebnisse seit dem Start des Labors im Februar 2021 als auch einen Ausblick auf die geplanten Arbeiten für die nächsten Jahre beschrieben. Während der Evaluierungsveranstaltung haben wir die Forschungsergebnisse und -pläne im Überblick aber auch ausgewählte Details präsentiert. Das Evaluierungskomitee kam zu einem sehr positiven Ergebnis. Das Kuratorium der Christian Doppler Forschungsgesellschaft hat basierend auf diesem Ergebnis und eines Beschlusses des CD-Senats der Fortführung unseres CD Labors VaSiCS für die nächsten drei Jahre bis 31.1.2026 zugestimmt.

News-Beitrag auf jku.at

News 05.12.2022

SE 2023 Student Research Competition

Die Beiträge von 2 Mitarbeiter*innen des CDL VaSiCS, Elene Kutsia und Philipp Bauer, wurden bei der Student Research Competition der Software Engineering Konferenz 2023 akzeptiert. Die Beiträge basieren auf den Bachelorarbeiten der beiden und wurden von anerkannten Forscher*innen peer-reviewed. Die beiden dürfen, obwohl gerade erst am Ende des Bachelorstudiums, ein Poster auf dieser wissenschaftlichen Konferenz präsentieren. Wir gratulieren herzlich.

* Philipp Bauer: Analyzing and Refactoring the Modularization of IEC 61499 Systems. Student Research Competition Poster. Software Engineering 2023, GI, 2023.

* Elene Kutsia: Clone Detection in IEC 61499 using Metainformation. Student Research Competition Poster. Software Engineering 2023, GI, 2023.

News 16.11.2022

VaMoS to Odense

Wir gratulieren Shubham Sharma und Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah (und allen Ko-Autoren) zu den folgenden Papers, welche für die 17th International Working Conference on Variability Modelling of Software-Intensive Systems (VaMoS 2023), welche Ende Januar in Odense, Dänemark stattfinden wird, akzeptiert wurden. Von Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah wurde zusätzlich ein Vortrag akzeptiert, in welchem er ein Paper, das bereits 2022 veröffentlicht wurde, nochmals vorstellen darf.

Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah, Kevin Feichtinger, Antonio Manuel Gutiérrez Fernández and Rick Rabiser: Dynamic Product Configuration User Interface: A Vision Motivated by the Cyber-Physical Production Systems Domain.

Shubham Sharma, Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah, Antonio Manuel Gutiérrez Fernández, Rick Rabiser and Alois Zoitl: Modularization Technique to Support Software Variability in Cyber-Physical Production Systems.

(Vortrag) Hafiyyan Sayyid Fadhlillah, Kevin Feichtinger, Kristof Meixner, Lisa Sonnleithner, Rick Rabiser and Alois Zoitl: Towards Multidisciplinary Delta-Oriented Variability Management in Cyber-Physical Production Systems.

News 19.09.2022

CDL VaSiCS und LIT CPS Lab bei der SPLC 2022

Von 12.9. bis 16.9.2022 präsentierten wir 4 Papers, 1 Tool Demo und 1 Tutorial bei der SPLC 2022 an der TU Graz (Rest in Englisch):

Sayyid (Fadhlillah) presented his doctoral symposium paper on multidisciplinary variability management for cyber-physical production systems.

Antonio (Gutierrez) presented joint work (w/ Ana Eva Chacón-Luna, David Benavides and Lidia Fuentes) on a study design for the analysis of variability management in industry.

Dario (Romano) presented joint work (w/ Kevin Feichtinger, Uwe Ryssel, Danilo Beuche and yt) on transforming the universal variability language to pure::variants (https://www.pure-systems.com/) and back.

Chico Sundermann ThomasThuem Jose A. Galindo David Benavides Kevin Feichtinger Sebastian Krieter and yt gave a tutorial on the Universal Variability Language (UVL), a core result of the MODEVAR (https://modevar.github.io/) initiative.

Sayyid (Fadhlillah) presented our (Kevin Feichtinger, Philipp Bauer, Elene Kutsia, yt) tool demo on V4rdiac, tooling for multidisciplinary delta-oriented variability management in cyber-physical production systems.

Kevin Feichtinger presented joint work (w/ ChicoSundermann ThomasThuem and yt) on classifying information loss during variability model roundtrip transformations.