The JKU Young Researchers' Award

The JKU is committed to recognizing and honoring outstanding academic and scientific accomplishments.

The Johannes Kepler University Linz created the JKU Young Researchers' Award in support of outstanding academic and scientific accomplishments to honor doctoral candidates as well as graduate students at the JKU Faculty of Medicine.


Current Call

The call for nominations is now open! Nominations can be made until April 13, 2023 at, opens an external URL in a new window.

The winners will be selected and notified by the Vice-Rectorate for Research, Gender and Diversity.

The JKU Young Researchers' Award will be presented during an awards ceremony at the JKU on July 3, 2023 at 5 pm.


Nominations are open to:

  • All students enrolled in a doctorate degree program at the JKU or a Master's degree program at the JKU Faculty of Medicine at the time the call for nominations is announced
  • Former students who were enrolled a doctorate degree program at the JKU or a Master's degree program at the JKU Faculty of Medicine (up to a maximum of 2 years after completing a doctorate / Master's degree in medicine at the time the call for nominations is announced, unless he/she has already received a different JKU award)

The nomination may be submitted by:

  • Professors - or those holding a post-doc/[habilitation] degree - employed at the JKU (first supervisor, second supervisor, others who hold a post-doc/[habilitation] degree; in this case, however, the nomination should be associated with the nominee’s original department or academic/scientific work to be submitted
  • Please use the forms available at: (log in using your AK number and password)
  • Only nominations submitted in a full and complete manner will be considered

Nomination criteria:

  • The individual must be nominated ("most contributing author"); not the academic/scientific paper
  • The focus is on outstanding scholarly work (completed dissertations or Master's degree thesis, accepted journal and book articles, or monographs)
  • An unused number of awards (for a department) may be presented within the faculty
  • The nomination criteria details are determined by the individual departments/deans' offices at the Faculty of Law or the Faculty of Medicine as well as the ranking. The ranking made by the departments/deans' offices will be forwarded via the deans' offices to the Vice-Rector for Research, Gender & Diversity. The Rectorate will render the final decision.


The 2021 Award Recipients


Name Subject Area Supervisor
Sergio Pollak Interdisciplinary Law Richard Soyer
Manuel Neusiedler Public Law David Leeb
Anna Obereder Public Law David Leeb
Thomas Mathy Business Law Elias Felten


Business Administration / Business Informatics

Name Subject Area Supervisor
Ilko Kovacic Business Intelligence Analytics Christoph Georg Schütz
Ferdinand Revellio Business Administration Erik Hansen


Social Sciences and Humanities

Name Subject Area Supervisor
Jonas Albrecht Business and Social History Ernst Langthaler



Name Subject Area Supervisor
Anna Hornykewycz Evolutionary Economies Bernhard Schütz


Chemistry and Polymer Engineering Technologies

Name Subject Area Supervisor
Ivana Zrinski Chemistry Andrei Ionut Mardare
Dominik Wielend Physical Chemistry Serdar Niyazi Sariciftci
Markus Gall Chemistry and Polymer Engineering Reinhold Lang



Name Subject Area Supervisor
Lukas Burgholzer Computing Robert Wille
Frederik Kratzert Machine Learning, Hydrology Günter Klambauer
Markus Weninger Memory Performance Monitoring Hanspeter Mössenböck



Name Subject Area Supervisor
Bernadett Stadler Mathematics Ronny Ramlau



Name Subject Area Supervisor
Stefan Clara Sensorics Bernhard Jakoby
Marcus Hintermüller Sensorics Bernhard Jakoby
Michael Gerstmair Signal Processing Mario Huemer
Thomas Paireder Signal Processing Mario Huemer
Matthias Eberlein Electronics and Information Technology Harald Pretl



Name Subject Area Supervisor
Christian Schimpf Technical Physics Armando Rastelli
Bianca Buchegger TTechnical Physics Thomas Klar



Name Subject Area Supervisor
Magdalena Dall Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Johannes Fellinger
Dominik Laister Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Daniel Holzinger
Armin Windhager Internal Medicine / Cardiology Clemens Steinwender
Stefan Rechberger Internal Medicine / Cardiology Clemens Steinwender
Hendrik Epping Gastroenterology Rainer Schöfl
Philip Rauch Medicine Andreas Gruber
Raphael Loisl Internal Medicine, Hematology- Oncology Johannes Clausen
Carmen Haneder Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine Gudrun Gröppel


Gallery of 2021 Award Recipients

Thank You to Our Cooperation Partners
for their Generous Contributions

We would like to take this opportunity to once again thank all of the sponsors for their generosity in financially supporting the 2021 Young Researchers' Awards.

The 2021 JKU Young Researchers Award - Cooperation Partners