Managerial Economics

General Information on the Course

Objectives

Students should learn the ability to deal with fundamental problems of a company's management from an economic point of view, to analyze decisions under uncertainty and to develop strategic decisions.

Subject

The course Managerial Economics is an introduction to economics topics. An essential aspect of this course is to understand important phenomena in companies with the help of economic decision models. It aims to show how economic principles explain real behavior and lead to decisions.

Topics:

  • Apply insights of microeconomics to the behavior of managers and companies
  • Price and product policy of the company
  • elementary principles of game theory
  • company organization
  • auctions
  • market forms
  • market entry
  • decisions under uncertainty

Literature

W. Bruce Allen, Keith Weigelt, Neil Doherty and Edwin Mansfield: Managerial Economics, 7th edition, Norton, NY, 2009 (ältere Editionen, sowie auch die neueste 8. Edition sind möglich)

=> siehe W.W. Norton & Company Inc. 

Dates

 Date Daytime Room Topic
Tue. 05.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Thu. 07.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Tue. 12.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Thu. 14.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Tue. 19.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Thu. 21.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Thu. 28.10.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Thu. 04.11.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Tue. 09.11.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Thu. 11.11.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Tue. 16.11.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Tue. 23.11.2021 13:45 - 15:15 HS 9  
Sa. 04.12.2021 13:45 - 15:15 tba Exam
tba     Retake exam

 

For further information: https://www.kusss.jku.at/

 

Details

Slides

Introduction (PDF)

Unit 1: Demand (PDF)  

Unit 2: Estimating Demand (PDF)

Unit 3: Market Types (PDF)

Unit 4: Price Discrimination (PDF) and Pink Tax in New York (Link)

Unit 5: Bundling (PDF)

Unit 6: Oligopoly (PDF)

"Example for sticky prices oligopoly"

Unit 7: Game Theory (PDF)

Unit 8: Auctions (PDF)

Dutch Flower Auction