Law and Economics

General Information on the Course

About the course

The course deals with economic analyses and consequences of laws and legal measures:

  • Property Right
  • Criminal Law
  • Contract Law

Economists are particularly interested in the rational behaviour of individuals; these behaviours are limited/changed by the legal situation. 
Relevant questions can be:

  • Who really bears the burden of capital gains tax?
  • Does a more severe punishment lead to less criminality?
  • How can contracts be designed so that there is as little breach of contract as possible?
  • Should companies merge when they operate in the same markets?

Literature

Dates

Date Daytime Topic
Mon. 08.03.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 11.03.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Mon. 15.03.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 18.03.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Mon. 22.03.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 25.03.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Mon. 12.04.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 15.04.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Mon. 19.04.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 22.04.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Mon. 26.04.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 29.04.2021 13:45 - 15:15  
Thu. 06.05.2021 13:45 - 15:15 Final Exam
Thu. 20.05.2021   Nachklausur


The course takes place via Zoom.
 

For further information: https://www.kusss.jku.at/

 

Details

Chapters

  • Introduction (PDF)
  • Wiederholung in Mikroökonomischer Theorie (PDF)
  • Ökonomische Theorie der Eigentumsrechte (PDF)
  • Probleme bei Eigentumsrechte (PDF)
  • Coase Theorem (PDF)
  • Wettbewerbspolitik (PDF)
  • Kapitel 6 (PDF)

Results of Exam

Summer Term 2021:

Final Exam (PDF)

Make Up Exam (PDF)