Welcome to the Institute of Semiconductor and Solid State Physics!

Research at the Institute of Semiconductor and Solid State Physics is focusing on the growth, nanofabrication, characterization, modification and applications of semiconducting hetero- and nanostructures, of ferromagnetic structures and materials, of oligomers, polymers and metals. It covers all aspects of nanostructures, ranging from fundamental investigations and modeling of physical properties up to the realization of novel nanostructures for quantum optics, infrared optoelectronics, magnetic, spintronic and thermoelectric devices.

Nanostructures are fabricated using advanced lithography and processing techniques including electron beam lithography, holographic lithography, as well as self-assembled growth of quantum dots and wires using molecular beam epitaxy, metal-organic vapor phase epitaxy and chemical synthesis. For these purposes, a Class-100 cleanroom facility with all necessary processing equipment is run at the institute. The objective of nanofabrication is to produce defect-free structures in the sub-50-nm range with precise control of shapes and compositions, sharp heterointerfaces and excellent optical, electronic and magnetic properties. Particular emphasis is placed on the development of site-control techniques for the positioning of self-assembled nanostructures.

Institute of Semiconductor and Solid State Physics


Johannes Kepler University of Linz
Altenberger Straße 69
4040 Linz


Semiconductor Physics building

Office hours

Mo-Fr: 09.00 - 15.00


+43 732 2468-9600, -9639

News & Events
News 15.10.2020

Article in DER STANDARD on recent
Nature Nanotechnology Paper

News 08.04.2020

Light Emitting Silicon: Publication in NATURE

Julian Stangl and Dorian Ziss among authors of

NATURE 580, 205-209 (2020)

News 19.12.2019

Article by Gunther Springholz et al. published in NATURE

In an article published in the high impact journal NATURE on 18 December 2019, Gunther Springholz, together with Oliver Rader (Helmholtz Zentrum / BESSY Berlin), reports about their recent experimental proof and measurement of a magnetic bandgap in a magnetically doped topological insulator that enables the quantum anomalous Hall effect (QAHE), which provides quantized edge states for lossless charge-transport applications.

News 12.09.2019

Marcus Reindl & Daniel Huber received JKU Early Research Achievement Award