The JKU Senate: Univ. Prof. Johann Höller Elected New Chairman

At its constitutive meeting, the JKU Senate elected digital business expert Univ. Prof. Johann Höller as its chairman.

Johann Höller
Johann Höller

Prof. Höller succeeds Univ. Prof. Hanspeter Mössenböck and will chair the Senate for a one-year period. As Prof. Höller is set to retire, the new deputy chair, Univ.Assist. Mag. Dr. Ursula Rami, will then take over until September 30, 2025, the end of the Senate period.

Univ. Prof. Höller is a professor and head of the JKU Institute for Digital Business. As the new Senate Chairman, Höller aims to "…contribute and pass my experience on so that the Senate can continue to perform its duties with a high degree of expertise".

As first deputy, the new chairman will be assisted by Univ.Assist. Mag. Dr. Ursula Rami (the Department of Economic and Organizational Sociology, JKU). The second deputy is still to be elected; some of the candidates were unable to attend on account of illness.

The Senate is one of the university’s governing bodies, along with the Rectorate and the University Council. The Senate consists of 26 members who are elected by members of the university. They serve a three-year term of office. The Senate is made up of university professors (13 seats), university lecturers, including academic employees (6 seats), students (6 seats), and general personnel (1 seat).