Newly-Constituted University Council at the JKU

The JKU University Council is newly constituted and ready to tackle the matters at hand.

[Translate to Englisch:] (v.l.): Kornelia Waitz-Ramsauer, Markus Hengstschläger, Sabine Urnik, stellvertretender Vorsitzender Michael Tissot, Vorsitzender Heinrich Schaller, Katharina Lehmayer, Elisabeth Engelbrechtsmüller-Strauß, Julius Stieber und Gerhard Roiss

The federal government seconded four members and four members were elected by the University Senate at the Johannes Kepler University. Dr. Heinrich Schaller, Director General of the Raiffeisenlandesbank of Upper Austria, was nominated by eight members and re-elected as Committee Chairman.

In addition to Heinrich Schaller, Univ. Prof Dr. Markus Hengstschläger (head of the Institute of Medical Genetics at the University of Vienna), and Mag. Katharina Lehmayer (President of the Linz Higher Regional Court), and der Dr. Julius Stieber (Director of Culture in Linz) will continue their function as as University Council members.

The new members are:

  • Mag. Elisabeth Engelbrechtsmüller-Strauß, Managing Director of Fronius in Wels
  • Dr. Gerhard Roiss, Supervisory Board Chairman at the Energieversorger Verbund
  • Tax advisor Dr. Michael Tissot, Deputy Chairman
  • Univ. Prof. Dr. Sabine Urnik, Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Salzburg
  • Attorney and tax advisor Dr. Kornelia Waitz-Ramsauer, LL.M

Heinrich Schaller spoke about his re-election as University Council Chairman and remarked, “I am honored by the trust placed in me and I intend to fulfill my future responsibilities and duties for the benefit of the Johannes Kepler University.”  JKU Rector Meinhard Lukas added, “The committee members have diverse backgrounds and this reflects the JKU’s diversity. The members will ensure that our university continues to advance and progress in a comprehensible and sustainable way.”


About the University Council
The JKU University Council is also the “supervisory board” and is composed of external professionals who are not affiliated with the university. The University Council has control of university events and is responsible for elected the Rector following a triple proposal submitted by the University Senate.

The current term of office is from March 2018 to February 2023.