Welcome to the Linz University Funds!

In order raise funds to establish and operate the University of Social and Economic Sciences in Linz, Federal Laws of July 5, 1962, BGBl. No. 189, established the "Linz University Fund" as a public corporation. Since then, activities have since been carried out by the State of Upper Austria and the City of Linz as well as by subsidy contributions made by companies and municipalities in Upper Austria.

During the first decades, the core tasks included addressing the required agendas associated with constructing additional university buildings.

The Linz University Fund's core responsibilities today include strengthening the State of Upper Austria and the City of Linz as a location for research and development as well as strengthening higher education and professional development, and to continue developing comprehensive educational programs.

Special attention is given to areas of innovation/innovative developments, technology, innovative teaching, supporting international activities, and supporting academic staff and graduate mobility.

Linz University Funds


Bahnhofplatz 1
4021 Linz


State Services Office, Rm. 4B624


0732/7720 15725 or 15726



Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is made up of 9 members from the government of Upper Austria and members appointed by the City of Linz. The Board of Trustees includes additional members who are appointed by the board upon the proposal of the board director(s).

Board / Presidents

  • Mag. Thomas Stelzer, Governor of Upper Austria
  • MMag. Klaus Luger, Mayor of the City of Linz

Managing Directors

  • Dr. Erich Watzl, Director, State Government Office
  • Dr. Julius Stieber, Cultural Director


Upper Austrian Chamber for Workers and Employees

rotes Logo der AK Oberoesterreich

Construction Firm Ing. Harald Weissel Ltd.

Brau Union Austria AG

Energie AG

3,000 Euros

logo der energie ag



fabasoft logo

Gebrüder Weiss

Husqvarna Austria GmbH

Hypo Upper Austria


Kellner & Kunz AG

Linz AG

OÖ Versicherung AG

Schwarzmüller Gruppe


Treuhand-Union Linz

voestalpine AG

Wacker Neuson Linz GmbH

Wimmer Media Ltd & Co KG

Oberoesterreichische nachrichten logo

Wolfern, Market Community