COMET K1 Centre Pro²Future.

Products and Production Systems of the Future.

Pro²Future is a COMET centre under the Austrian competence centre funding programme COMET (Competence Centres for Excellent Technologies). It began operations in 2017, and Pro2Future enters its second funding period in 2021.

Funding FFG COMET, 4. Ausschreibung K1-Zentren
Duration 2017-2025
Shareholder Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Technische Universität Graz, AVL List GmbH, FRONIUS International GmbH, Upper Austrian Research GmbH
Role Proposer, Scientific Director, Scientific Partner

 

Pro²Future builds on top of the consortium's expertise in mechatronic systems, networked embedded systems, cyber-physical systems, smart/pervasive/ubiquitous systems, systems of systems, big data analytics and data-driven predictive models, semantic and intelligent systems, and adresses innovative ICT (Information and Communication Technologies) for production systems and future products. The main focus is on cognitive systems. Pro2Future aims at a next generation of industrial ICT: Cognitive products and industrial systems that help equip products and production systems with human-like cognitive capabilities such as perception, understanding, interpretation, memorization and learning, reasoning, and corresponding cognition-driven autonomous action. The Pro²Future research programme consolidates research results in two core areas, namely Area 4.1 Cognitive Products and Area 4.2 Cognitive Production Systems. They are supported by the three basic areas Area 1 Machine Perception and Consciousness, Area 2 Cognitive Robotics and Shop Floors and Area 3 Cognitive Decision Support Systems.

[Translate to Englisch:] Visualisation Research Program

The core of Pro2Future is a highly ambitious research programme jointly defined by business and science. Over an initial four-year funding period from 2017 to 2021, Pro²Future carried out projects in the area of industrial research and the experimental development of cognitive products and cognitive production systems. Basic research, training measures and technical feasibility studies round off the funded activities. In the so-called non-COMET area, Pro²Future conducts research and development that is either funded outside the COMET funding framework, both nationally and internationally, or is commissioned directly by companies and organisations from business and society.

FFG Success Stories Pro²Future:

 

 

Joint projects

Since the beginning, the Institute of Pervasive Computing has accompanied the COMET K1 Centre. We already played a leading role in development and submission, and Prof. Ferscha is active today as scientific director of Pro2Future GmbH and key researcher.

The institute works closely with Pro²Future, especially in the Area 1 (machine perception and consciousness). Here, innovative interaction concepts are developed to enable direct, collaborative and safe cooperation between humans and machines by equipping technical systems with cognitive capabilities (e.g. perception, interpretation, learning, decision making, etc.).

In our projects, cognitive systems are realized in the form of industrial, sensor-based assistance systems for the optimal support of workers directly in the concrete production process (human-in-the-loop). Intuitive support and assistance functions integrated into the workflow are intended to provide optimal support for workers in the product process. The overriding goal is to provide the right, relevant information at the right time on a suitable sensory channel and thus to support the workflow in the best possible way.

The main focus of the research is on (i) the technical realization of perception and interpretation of the context, such as the modeling of the status in the production process, and (ii) the acquisition of human (e.g. vital data, skill and experience, cognitive load) as well as machine parameters (material, process specifications, environment), (ii) in the exploration of innovative interaction modalities that allow a simplified and more efficient execution of work processes, such as in technical support in maintenance and documentation scenarios, and (iii) in the development of optimal sensor-actuator systems that meet industrial and human requirements and that can adapt and adjust (learn) to human differences as well as to technical conditions.

Joint projects in FP 2

The Institute of Pervasive Computing is currently engaged in the following projects:

  • GuideIT - APECGR: Artificial Personality for Cognitive Guidance and Recommendation Systems (04/2021-03/2024)
  • GuideIT - RTEL: Cognitive Rail Track Error Learning (04/2021-03/2024)
  • GuideIT - GAP: Cognitive Guidance for Assembly Processes (04/2021-03/2022)
  • UnderstandHIT - Fischer4You2 (04/2021-03/2022)

Poster collection of joint projects in FP2:

Joint projects in FP 1

The Institute of Pervasive Computing is engaged in the following projects (FP1):

  • SeeIT: Augmented Work Processes (01/2018-03/2021)
  • WorkIT: Workflow and Tool Process Modelling (01/2018-03/2021)
  • GUIDE: Guidance and Assistance (04/2018-03/2021)
  • Fischer4You: Cognitive Skiing Products (01/2019-03/2021)
  • RTEAS: Cognitive Rail Track Error Analysis Support (11/2019-03/2021)
  • Opportunistic Awareness in Assistive Environments (04/2020-03/2021)
  • HumanAI: Human Focused AI for occupational safety and accident prevention (11/2020-03/2021)

Poster collection of joint projects in FP1:

COMET K1 Centre Pro²Future.

Products and Production Systems of the Future.

Pro²Future ist ein COMET-Zentrum nach dem österreichischen Kompetenzzentren-Förderprogramm COMET (Competence Centres for Excellent Technologies). Den operativen Betrieb nahm es 2017 auf, 2021 startet Pro2Future in die zweite Förderperiode.

Finanzierung FFG COMET, 4. Ausschreibung K1-Zentren
Laufzeit 2017-2025
Gesellschafter Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Technische Universität Graz, AVL List GmbH, FRONIUS International GmbH, Upper Austrian Research GmbH
Rolle Antragstellung, Wissenschaftliche Leitung, Wissenschaftspartner

 

Pro²Future baut auf der Expertise des Konsortiums in den Bereichen mechatronische Systeme, vernetzte eingebettete Systeme, smarte Systeme, Pervasive/Ubiquitous Computing Systeme, Systems of Systems, Big Data Analytics, datengetriebene prädiktive Analysen und semantische und intelligente Systeme auf, und adressiert innovative IKT (Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien) für Produktionssysteme und zukünftige Produkte. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf kognitiven Systemen. Pro²Future zielt auf eine nächste Generation industrieller IKT ab: Kognitive Produkte und Industriesysteme, mit deren Hilfe Produkte und Produktionssysteme mit menschenähnlichen kognitiven Fähigkeiten wie Wahrnehmen, Verstehen, Interpretieren, Memorieren und Lernen, Schlussfolgern und entsprechendem kognitionsgesteuerten autonomen Handeln ausgestattet werden. Das Forschungsprogramm von Pro²Future konsolidiert Forschungsergebnisse in zwei Kernbereichen (Areas), nämlich Area 4.1 Kognitive Produkte und Area 4.2 Kognitive Produktionssysteme. Sie werden unterstützt von den drei Grundlagenbereichen Area 1 Maschinelles Wahrnehmen und Bewusstsein, Area 2 Kognitive Robotik und Shop Floors und Area 3 Kognitive Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme.

Visualisation Research Program

Das Herzstück von Pro2Future ist ein von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft gemeinsam definiertes, hochambitioniertes Forschungsprogramm. Über einen vorerst vierjährigen Förderzeitraum von 2017 bis 2021 führte Pro²Future Vorhaben im Bereich der industriellen Forschung und der experimentellen Entwicklung kognitiver Produkte und kognitiver Produktionssysteme durch. Grundlagenforschung, Ausbildungsmaßnahmen und technische Durchführbarkeitsstudien runden die geförderten Aktivitäten ab. Im sogenannten Non-COMET-Bereich betreibt Pro²Future Forschung und Entwicklung, die entweder außerhalb des COMET-Förderrahmens national wie international gefördert werden oder von Unternehmen und Organisationen aus Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft direkt beauftragt werden. 

FFG Success Stories Pro²Future:

 

Gemeinsame Projekte

Das Institut für Pervasive Computing begleitet das COMET K1 Zentrum Pro2Future seit Anbeginn. Wir waren bereits federführend an Entwicklung und Einreichung beteiligt, und auch heute ist Prof. Ferscha als wissenschaftlicher Leiter der Pro2Future GmbH und Key Researcher aktiv.

Das Institut arbeitet vor allem im Bereich der Area 1 (Maschinelles Wahrnehmen und Bewusstsein) eng mit Pro²Future zusammen. Hier werden innovative Interaktionskonzepte entwickelt, um eine direkte, kollaborative und sichere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mensch und Maschine zu ermöglichen, und zwar durch die Ausstattung technischer Systeme mit kognitiven Fähigkeiten (z.B. Wahrnehmung, Interpretation, Lernfähigkeit, Entscheidungsfindung, etc.).

In unseren Projekten werden kognitive Systeme in Form von industriellen, sensor-basierten Assistenzsystemen zur optimalen Unterstützung von Arbeiter*innen direkt im konkreten Produktionsprozess (human-in-the-loop) realisiert. Intuitive, in den Arbeitsablauf integrierte Unterstützungs- und Assistenzfunktionen sollen eine optimale Unterstützung der Arbeiter*innen im Produktsprozess ermöglichen. Übergeordnetes Ziel dabei ist, die richtige, relevante Information zur richtigen Zeit auf einem geeigneten sensorischen Kanal darzubieten und damit den Workflow bestmöglich zu unterstützen.

Die Schwerpunkte der Forschungsarbeiten liegen dabei (i) in der technischen Realisierung von Perzeption und Interpretation des Kontextes wie z.B. die Modellierung des Status im Produktionsprozess, sowie die Erfassung menschlicher (z.B. Vitalwerte, Können und Erfahrung, kognitive Belastung) sowie maschineller Parameter (Material, Prozessvorgaben, Umgebung), (ii) in der Erforschung innovativer Interaktionsmodalitäten, die eine vereinfachte und effizientere Durchführung von Arbeitsprozessen erlaubt, wie zum Beispiel in der technischen Unterstützung in Wartungs- und Dokumentationsszenarien, und (iii) in der Entwicklung optimaler, den industriellen und menschlichen Anforderungen entsprechender, Sensor-Aktuator Systeme, die sich sowohl auf menschliche Unterschiede sowie auf technische Verhältnisse anpassen und einstellen (lernen) können.

Gemeinsame Projekte in FP 2

Das Institut für Pervasive Computing arbeitet aktuell an folgenden Projekten:

  • GuideIT - APECGR: Artificial Personality for Cognitive Guidance and Recommendation Systems (04/2021-03/2024)
  • GuideIT - RTEL: Cognitive Rail Track Error Learning (04/2021-03/2024)
  • GuideIT - GAP: Cognitive Guidance for Assembly Processes (04/2021-03/2022)
  • UnderstandHIT - Fischer4You2 (04/2021-03/2022)

Postersammlung der gemeinsamen Projekte in FP2:

Gemeinsame Projekte in FP 1

Das Institut für Pervasive Computing arbeitet in Förderperiode 1 an folgenden Projekten:

  • SeeIT: Augmented Work Processes (01/2018-03/2021)
  • WorkIT: Workflow and Tool Process Modelling (01/2018-03/2021)
  • GUIDE: Guidance and Assistance (04/2018-03/2021)
  • Fischer4You: Cognitive Skiing Products (01/2019-03/2021)
  • RTEAS: Cognitive Rail Track Error Analysis Support (11/2019-03/2021)
  • Opportunistic Awareness in Assistive Environments (04/2020-03/2021)
  • HumanAI: Human Focused AI for occupational safety and accident prevention (11/2020-03/2021)

Postersammlung der gemeinsamen Projekte in FP1: