Kepler Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

The Johannes Kepler University Linz aims to establish higher educational standards that are simultaneously more visible to the outside.

The JKU is pleased to introduce the Kepler Awards in recognition of innovative teaching. The awards have been created to support higher educational standards, inspire the integration of new technologies in the classroom, and drive excellence in education. The awards supplement existing quality criteria, such as the Ars Docendi (state award for Excellence in Teaching at Austria's public universities and colleges).

Category of Innovative Education – Kepler Award for Teaching Innovation

Core Idea and Criteria

The Kepler Awards for Innovative Teaching will be presented in recognition of highly innovative courses, particularly in regard to overall concept and/or key educational components. In particular, these courses follow the lines of the criteria equivalent to the Ars Docendi: 

Innovative University Didactics

Innovative university didactics can be defined differently in each subject area and is conveyed, for example, by the use of new educational concepts, teaching methods and learning outcome orientation. The educational concept supports interdisciplinary skills and qualifications.

Student-Centered Teaching and Heterogeneity

Student-centered teaching takes different educational backgrounds and levels of education into account as well as the learning and study conditions for an increasingly heterogeneous student body stemming from various walks of life. Students are not only actively involved in creating and implementing courses, they are also actively encouraged to acquire individual skills. The educational concept includes inclusion aspects as well as raising awareness about social inequalities and their impact.

Focus on Competence

Educators base their pedagogical concept on pre-defined competence profiles and learning goals as well as learning outcomes. The lessons are based on a structured, competence-oriented concept that students can understand at all times. Special emphasis can be placed on combining theory and real-world applications of the content that has been taught, i.e. the educational concept demonstrates correlations between scientific/academic theories and methods and professional, real-world applications.

Categories equivalent to Ars Docendi

In the context of this award, each award-winning course is assigned to one of the Ars Docendi categories, which for 2021, were as follows:

Learning Outcome-Oriented Examination Traditions and their Anchoring as part of the Course

Example: Using innovative educational and learning formats to implement competence-oriented curricula, new concepts to grade acquired skills/knowledge and/or their implementation, comparing educational/learning formats using learning/result-oriented examination methods.

Digital Transformation in th Clasroom

Example: Holistic educational and learning formats combining classroom instruction and the use of digital media and formats (including the use of open educational resources), supporting digital skill learning as outlined in the European Digital Competence Framework for Citizens: Managing information, communication, creating digital content, security, problem solving; addressing digital technologies and new cultural techniques as well as computational thinking, reflective use of digital eductional and learning formats to support student-centered eduction (i.e. flexible in term of location and time constraints)

Collaborative Form of Education and Working Together

Example: Creating and implementing joint educational content (i.e. joint or jointly created curricula, courses, grading) beyond universities and/or university sectors, inter-university or cross-sectoral qualification measures in subject areas and university didactics, transdisciplinary and interdisciplinary education and learning environments.

Research-related and/or Artistically Incorporated Educational Concepts

Example: Research-based and research-oriented teaching and/or educational concepts that focus on developing the arts, leading students to conduct research and further develop the arts (i.e. by teaching research methods, organizing discussions with researchers, independently designing research processes), student participation in research discourse and projects (interdisciplinary and international) and supporting critical reflection of the ensuing discourse and projects

Quality Improvement of Teaching and Ability to Study

Example: Visible quality improvement of courses by using findings from evaluations and monitoring (preparation - implementation - examination), exchange and cooperation between university instructors and faculty members (i.e. peer observation, peer-teaching), exchange between university instructors and students, such as productive feedback, further developing courses by incorporating information acquired as part of didactic programs, flexible eductional and learning formats for heterogeneous student groups (i.e. students working full-time or part-time).

Call

The JKU Rectorate herewith announces a call once during the academic year to invite submissions for the Kepler Award for Teaching Innovation. The award will be presented to up to three university courses.

In addition, together with the winner of the Kepler Digital Award for Excellent Teaching, the three university courses selected by the panel of experts (see "Jury and Presenting the Award") represent proposals by the JKU Rectorate for the Ars Docendi - the state award for excellence in teaching at Austria's public universities, universities of applied sciences, and private universities (as advertised by the Austrian Ministry of Science and Research). The Rectorate, however, is free to include additional courses to nomination submitted to the Ministry. The Ars Docendi in the respective year is generally announced in December; as a rule, submissions are to be submitted by early March of the following year.

Submission

Please submit nominations for the teaching award informally by sending an e-mail to: kepler-award@jku.at by December 31, 2021. The nomination must include:

  • The course's title at the JKU and course number
  • The name of the course administrator/managing department or institute
  • The semester the course was held
  • Reason for submission (3 to 5 arguments, max. 1000 characters; see: selection criteria)

Those permitted to submit nominations include:

  • Students may submit nominations via the JKU Austrian Student Union and its sub-organizations (students can submit nominations to the Student Union; the Student Union can also submit nominations; in this way, a maximum of three courses per academic degree program may be nominated)
  • JKU faculty members who would like to nominate their own course
  • JKU faculty members who would like nominate a course held by another faculty members
  • Heads of institutes and departments
  • Study commissions chairpersons
  • Department spokespersons
  • Deans

If a course is nominated for the award by a third party, approval by the course management is required. The course management must provide the required course information to the jury.

Courses held during the last two semesters prior to announcing the call for the award and are part of a regular curriculum (source curriculum) may be nominated.

The Jury and Presenting the Award

A panel of experts consisting of one Senate member per curia, two JKU Austrian Student Union representatives, and two representatives from each faculty and the School of Education will select three award winners from all submitted entries. The Vice-Rectorate for Academic Affairs will review the selections and provide the grounds for selecting the (winning) courses.

The Senate, the JKU Austrian Student Union, and the faculties as well as the School of Education are to select jury members and send the nominations by no later than December 31 to the Vice-Rectorate for Academic Affairs.

The awards are endowed with € 500 in prize money and will be presented to the recipient during a scheduled awards ceremony.

Category Digital Education – Kepler Award for Excellence in Digital Teaching

Core Idea and Criteria

Entries must contain elements of the following in order to qualify and be considered:

  • The course is characterized by its innovative organizational focus (not content) on "digital teaching", "e-Learning", "blended learning" and/or "remote learning".
  • As the course is organized digitally, students who work full-time or part-time can complete the course.
  • The course's digital technologies can also be transferred to other courses.
  • The learning requirements extend beyond mere knowledge transfer and are characterized by teaching digital, creative, critical and/or problem-oriented thinking.
  • The course's learning objectives and the form of grading are coordinated in synch and in line with the curriculum's qualification profile.
  • The course extends beyond a "a teacher-centered lecture" and encourages active participation and learning.
  • During the semester, students regularly receive proactive feedback about their learning progress from course administrators.
  • The course's evaluation criteria are fair and transparent.
  • All of the course information is available and up-to-date in the JKU course catalog.

Note regarding lectures: Even though it is more difficult for lectures to meet this criteria, we are actively encouraging nominations for lectures. The criteria will be taken into account when evaluating the nomination.

Call

The JKU Rectorate herewith announces a call once during the academic year to invite submissions for the Kepler Award for Digital Innovation. The award will be presented to one university course.

Together with the winners of the Kepler Award for Teaching Innovation, the winning course selected by the panel of experts (see "Jury and Presenting the Award") for the Kepler Award for Digital Innovation will be nominated by the JKU Rectorate for the Ars Docendi - the state award for excellence in teaching at Austria's public universities, universities of applied sciences, and private universities (as advertised by the Austrian Ministry of Science and Research). The Rectorate, however, is free to include additional courses to nomination submitted to the Ministry. The Ars Docendi in the respective year is generally announced in December; as a rule, submissions are to be submitted by early March of the following year.

Submission

Please submit nominations for the teaching award informally by sending e-mail to: kepler-award@jku.at by December 31, 2021. The nomination must include:

  • The course's title at the JKU and course number
  • The name of the course administrator/managing department or institute
  • The semester the course was held
  • Reason for submission (approx. 1 paragraph; see: selection criteria)

Those permitted to submit nominations include:

  • Students may submit nominations via the JKU Austrian Student Union and its sub-organizations (students can submit nominations to the Student Union; the Student Union can also submit nominations; in this way, a maximum of three courses per academic degree program may be nominated)
  • JKU faculty members who would like to nominate their own course
  • JKU faculty members who would like nominate a course held by another faculty members
  • Heads of institutes and departments
  • Study commissions chairpersons
  • Department spokespersons
  • Deans

Wird eine Lehrveranstaltung von einer dritten Person für den Preis vorgeschlagen, ist jedenfalls die Zustimmung der Lehrveranstaltungsleitung einzuholen. Die Lehrveranstaltungsleitung muss in jedem Fall die von der Jury für notwendig erachteten Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung bereitstellen.

If a course is nominated for the award by a third party, approval by the course management is required. The course management must provide the required course information to the jury.

 

The Jury and Presenting the Award

A panel of experts consisting of one Senate member per curia, two JKU Austrian Student Union representatives, and two representatives from each faculty and the School of Education will select three award winners from all submitted entries. The Vice-Rectorate for Academic Affairs will review the selections and provide the grounds for selecting the (winning) courses. The Senate, the JKU Austrian Student Union, and the faculties as well as the School of Education are to select jury members by no later than December 31 and send the nominations to the Vice-Rectorate for Academic Affairs. The awards are endowed with € 500 in prize money and will be presented to the recipient during a scheduled awards ceremony.

Category Student Award - Kepler Student Award for Excellent Teaching

Core Idea and Criteria

The winner of this category will receive an award based on the best student course evaluation. The results from the final overall evaluation in which the students rate the course as a whole in one question will be considered. If the results are identical, the course with the highest percentage response will be selected. Due to the difficulty of comparison, one course per faculty and a course at the School of Education will be eligible to win an award in this category.

Call

Publishing a call is unnecessary as the results are directly available and will be reviewed accordingly. Once the decision has been made, corresponding notification will be included in the student evaluation.

 

Submission

Similar to the call, separate submissions are unnecessary. Courses that were held during the last two semesters prior to the call's publication have received sufficient student response for statistical evaluation and are a part the program's regular curriculum (source curriculum).

 

The Jury and Presenting the Award

A panel of experts is not required to select a winner in this category. The information was collected by the Department of Quality Management and the formal selection will be carried out by the Vice-Rectorate for Academic Affairs. The awards are endowed with € 500 in prize money and will be presented to the recipient during a scheduled awards ceremony.

schließen

Kepler Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Die Johannes Kepler Universität Linz hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, neue Maßstäbe in der Lehre zu etablieren. Sie soll besser und sichtbarer werden. 

Aus diesem Grund werden die Kepler Awards für innovative Lehre ausgeschrieben. Sie sollen vor allem in der Digitalen Lehre neue Konzepte ermöglichen und die Exzellenz in der Lehre vorantreiben. Diese Initiative versteht sich als sinnvolle Ergänzung bestehender Qualitätskriterien, wie jene des Ars Docendi (Staatspreis für exzellente Lehre an Österreichs öffentlichen Universitäten und Hochschulen). 

 

Innovative Lehre – Kepler Award for Teaching Innovation

Grundidee und Kriterien

In der Kategorie Innovative Lehre zeichnen sich die prämierten Lehrveranstaltungen durch einen hohen Innovationsgrad in der Gesamtkonzeption oder in wesentlichen Lehrbestandteilen aus. Insbesondere entsprechen sie mindestens einem der folgenden Kriterien, analog zum Ars Docendi:

Innovative Hochschuldidaktik

Innovative Hochschuldidaktik - die im jeweiligen Fach unterschiedlich definiert sein kann - kommt etwa durch den Einsatz neuartiger Lehrkonzepte, Lehrmethoden und Lernergebnisorientierung zum Ausdruck. Die Lehre fördert fachübergreifende Kompetenzen und Qualifikationen.

Studierendenzentrierung und Heterogenität

Studierendenzentrierte Lehre berücksichtigt unterschiedliches Vorwissen und Bildungsbiografien ebenso wie Lern- und Studienbedingungen einer zunehmend heterogenen Studierendenschaft mit unterschiedlichen Lebensrealitäten. Studierende werden an der Konzeption und Durchführung von Lehrveranstaltungen aktiv beteiligt und im individuellen Kompetenzerwerb besonders gefördert. Die Lehre schließt Aspekte der Inklusion ebenso ein wie die Sensibilisierung für gesellschaftliche Ungleichheiten und deren Konsequenzen.

 

Kompetenzorientierung

Die Lehrperson richtet ihre Lehre an vorab definierten Kompetenzprofilen und Lernzielen bzw. Lernergebnissen aus. Dem Unterricht liegt ein strukturiertes, für Studierende jederzeit nachvollziehbares und kompetenzorientiertes Konzept zugrunde. Dabei kann ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf die Verbindung von Theorie und praktischer Anwendung des Gelernten gelegt werden, d.h. die Lehre zeigt Bezüge zwischen wissenschaftlichen Theorien und Methoden und der Berufs- und Lebenspraxis auf.

Europäische und internationale Ausrichtung

Die Lehrveranstaltung folgt den Prinzipien des Bologna-Prozesses (z.B. Darlegung der Arbeitsbelastung [workload], kompetenzorientierte Gestaltung von Lernmodulen), schließt internationale Erkenntnisse und Entwicklungen (internationalisation@home) ein und fördert den Blick über den Tellerrand.

Kategorien analog zu Ars Docendi

Aus dem Konnex dieses Preises ergibt sich auch, dass jede prämierte Lehrveranstaltung einer der Kategorien des Ars Docendi zugeordnet wird, die für das Jahr 2020 wie folgt lauteten:

Lernergebnisorientierte Prüfungskultur und deren Verankerung in der Lehrveranstaltung

z.B.: Einsatz innovativer Lehr- und Lernformen zur Umsetzung kompetenzorientierter Curricula, neue Konzepte zur Überprüfung erworbener Kompetenzen bzw. deren Umsetzung, Abgleich von Lehr-/Lernformen mit lernergebnisorientierten Prüfungsmethoden

Digitale Transformation in der Lehre

z.B.: Ganzheitliche Lehr- und Lernformen mit Kombinationen von Präsenzlehre und dem Einsatz digitaler Medien und Formate (u.a. Einsatz von Open Educational Resources), Förderung des Erwerbs digitaler Kompetenzen im Sinne des European Digital Competence Framework for Citizens: Umgang mit Informationen, Kommunikation, Erstellung digitaler Inhalte, Sicherheit, Problemlösung; Umgang mit digitalen Technologien und neuen Kulturtechniken sowie Computational Thinking, reflexive Verwendung digitaler Lehr- und Lernformen zur Förderung studierendenzentrierter Lehre (z.B. orts- und zeitflexibles Lernen)

Kooperative Lehr- und Arbeitsformen

z.B.: Konzeption und Durchführung gemeinsamer Lehre (z.B. gemeinsame oder gemeinsam eingerichtete Curricula, Lehrveranstaltungen, Leistungsüberprüfung) über Hochschulen bzw. Hochschulsektoren hinweg, hochschul- bzw. sektorenübergreifende Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen in der Fach- und Hochschuldidaktik, transdisziplinäre und interdisziplinäre Lehr- und Lernsettings

Forschungsbezogene bzw. kunstgeleitete Lehre

z.B.: Forschungsbasierte und forschungsorientierte bzw. auf die Erschließung der Künste ausgerichtete Lehre, Hinführung von Studierenden zu Forschung und Erschließung der Künste (z.B. durch Vermittlung von Forschungsmethoden, Diskussionen mit Forschenden, eigenständige Gestaltung von Forschungsprozessen), Partizipation von Studierenden an (interdisziplinären und internationalen) Forschungsdiskursen und -projekten und Förderung kritischer Reflexion in diesen Diskursen und Projekten

Qualitätsverbesserung von Lehre und Studierbarkeit

z.B.: Sichtbare Qualitätsverbesserung von Lehrveranstaltungen durch die Nutzung von Erkenntnissen aus Evaluation und Monitoring (Vorbereitung – Durchführung – Prüfung), Austausch und Zusammenarbeit zwischen Lehrenden (z.B. kollegiale Hospitation, Peer-Teaching), Austausch zwischen Lehrenden und Studierenden im Sinne einer lebendigen Feedbackkultur, Weiterentwicklung von Lehrveranstaltungen unter Nutzung didaktischer Angebote, flexible Lehr- und Lernformen für heterogene Studierendengruppen (z.B. berufsermöglichend)

Ausschreibung

Das Rektorat der JKU schreibt einmal im Studienjahr den Kepler Award for Teaching Innovation aus. Mit dem Preis werden bis zu drei Lehrveranstaltungen prämiert.

Die durch die Fachjury (vgl. dazu auch „Jury und Preisvergabe“) ausgewählten drei Lehrveranstaltungen stellen zudem gemeinsam mit dem Preisträger für den Kepler Digital Award for Excellent Teaching die Vorschläge des Rektorats der JKU für den vom BMBWF ausgeschriebenen Ars Docendi – der Staatspreis für exzellente Lehre an Österreichs öffentlichen Universitäten, Fachhochschulen und Privatuniversitäten – dar. Dem Rektorat steht dabei aber frei, auch weitere Lehrveranstaltungen in den Vorschlag an das BMBWF aufzunehmen. Der Ars Docendi des jeweiligen Jahres wird in der Regel im Dezember ausgeschrieben, die Einreichung hat normalerweise bis Anfang März des darauffolgenden Jahres zu erfolgen.

Einreichung

Die Vorschläge für den Lehrpreis werden formlos per E-Mail an kepler-award@jku.at gesendet. Der Vorschlag muss dabei enthalten:

  • Name und Nummer der Lehrveranstaltung an der JKU
  • Name der Lehrveranstaltungsleitung
  • Semester der Abhaltung
  • Begründung der Einreichung (3 bis 5 Argumente, max. 1000 Zeichen; siehe dazu auch Auswahlkriterien)

Vorschlagsberechtigt sind:

  • Studierende über die ÖH JKU und deren Teilorganisationen (Studierende können Vorschläge an die ÖH einreichen, diese kann auch selbst Nominierungen vornehmen, pro Studienrichtungen können auf diesem Wege insgesamt maximal drei Lehrveranstaltungen nominiert werden)
  • Lehrende der JKU, die die eigene Lehrveranstaltung einreichen möchten
  • Lehrende der JKU, die die Lehrveranstaltung anderer Lehrender einreichen möchten
  • Instituts- und Abteilungsleitungen
  • Vorsitzende der Studienkommissionen
  • Fachbereichssprecher*innen
  • Dekan*innen

Wird eine Lehrveranstaltung von einer dritten Person für den Preis vorgeschlagen, ist jedenfalls die Zustimmung der Lehrveranstaltungsleitung einzuholen. Die Lehrveranstaltungsleitung muss in jedem Fall die von der Jury für notwendig erachteten Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung bereitstellen.

Vorgeschlagen werden können Lehrveranstaltungen, die in den zwei letzten Semestern vor der Ausschreibung abgehalten wurden und in einem ordentlichen Curriculum verankert sind (Quellcurriculum).

Jury und Preisvergabe

Eine Fachjury, bestehend aus je einem Mitglied des Senats pro Kurie, zwei Vertreter*innen der ÖH JKU und zwei Vertreter*innen jeder Fakultät sowie der School of Education wählt aus allen eingereichten Lehrveranstaltungen nach einer formalen Vorprüfung auf Ernsthaftigkeit durch das Vizerektorat für Lehre und Studierende drei Preisträger*innen aus und begründet die Auswahl.

Der Senat, die ÖH JKU und die Fakultäten sowie die School of Education haben die zu entsendenden Jury-Mitglieder bis spätestens 31.12. dem Vizerektorat für Lehre und Studierende bekanntzugeben.

Die Preise werden im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Veranstaltung vergeben und sind zudem mit je EUR 500 dotiert.

Kategorie Digitale Lehre – Kepler Award for Excellence in Digital Teaching

Grundidee und Kriterien

Eingereichte Lehrveranstaltungen haben sich dabei insbesondere durch folgende Kriterien auszuzeichnen:

  • Die Lehrveranstaltung zeichnet sich mit ihrem innovativen organisatorischen – nicht inhaltlichen – Fokus auf „digitale Lehre“, „eLearning“, „Blended Learning“ oder „Distance Learning“ aus.
  • Durch ihren digitalen organisatorischen Fokus ist die Lehrveranstaltung berufsbegleitend zu absolvieren.
  • Die digitalen Technologien der Lehrveranstaltung lassen sich auch auf andere Lehrveranstaltungen übertragen.
  • Die Lernanforderungen gehen über reine Wissensvermittlung hinaus und zeichnen sich durch die Vermittlung von digitalem, kreativem, kritischem und problemorientiertem Denken aus.
  • Die Lernziele der Lehrveranstaltung und die Form der Leistungsüberprüfung sind aufeinander abgestimmt und mit dem Qualifikationsprofil des Curriculums im Einklang.
  • Die Lehrveranstaltung geht über einen „Frontalvortrag“ hinaus und zeichnet sich durch aktives Lernen aus.
  • Die Studierenden erhalten während des Semesters regelmäßig proaktiv Feedback von der Lehrveranstaltungsleitung über ihren Lernfortschritt.
  • Die Beurteilungskriterien der Lehrveranstaltung sind fair und transparent.
  • Alle Informationen der Lehrveranstaltung sind im Studienhandbuch der JKU abrufbar und auf dem aktuellsten Stand.

Hinweis betreffend Vorlesungen: Wenn es auch wesentlich schwieriger ist, diese Kriterien in Vorlesungen zu erfüllen, wird explizit dazu aufgerufen, zusätzlich Vorlesungen für den Preis vorzuschlagen. Dies wird bei der Beurteilung der Einreichung entsprechend.

Ausschreibung

Das Rektorat der JKU schreibt einmal im Studienjahr den Kepler Award for Excellence in Digital Teaching aus. Mit dem Preis wird eine Lehrveranstaltung prämiert. 

Die durch die Fachjury (vgl. dazu auch „Jury und Preisvergabe“) ausgewählte Lehrveranstaltung wird zudem gemeinsam mit den Preisträgern für den Kepler Award for Teaching Innovation in den Vorschlag des Rektorats der JKU für den vom BMBWF ausgeschriebenen Ars Docendi – der Staatspreis für exzellente Lehre an Österreichs öffentlichen Universitäten, Fachhochschulen und Privatuniversitäten – dar. Dem Rektorat steht dabei aber frei, auch weitere Lehrveranstaltungen in den Vorschlag an das BMBWF aufzunehmen. Der Ars Docendi für das jeweilige Jahr wird in der Regel im Dezember ausgeschrieben, die Einreichung hat normalerweise bis Anfang März des darauffolgenden Jahres zu erfolgen.

Einreichung

Die Vorschläge für den Lehrpreis werden formlos per E-Mail an kepler-award@jku.at gesendet. Der Vorschlag muss dabei enthalten:

  • Name und Nummer der Lehrveranstaltung an der JKU
  • Name der Lehrveranstaltungsleitung
  • Semester der Abhaltung
  • Begründung der Einreichung (ca. ein Absatz; siehe dazu auch Auswahlkriterien)

Vorschlagsberechtigt sind:

  • Studierende über die ÖH JKU und deren Teilorganisationen (Studierende können Vorschläge an die ÖH einreichen, diese kann auch selbst Nominierungen vornehmen, pro Studienrichtungen können auf diesem Wege insgesamt maximal drei Lehrveranstaltungen nominiert werden)
  • Lehrende der JKU, die die eigene Lehrveranstaltung einreichen möchten
  • Lehrende der JKU, die die Lehrveranstaltung anderer Lehrender einreichen möchten
  • Institutsleitung
  • Vorsitzende der Studienkommissionen
  • Fachbereichssprecher*innen
  • Dekan*innen

Wird eine Lehrveranstaltung von einer dritten Person für den Preis vorgeschlagen, ist jedenfalls die Zustimmung der Lehrveranstaltungsleitung einzuholen. Die Lehrveranstaltungsleitung muss in jedem Fall die von der Jury für notwendig erachteten Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung bereitstellen.

Vorgeschlagen werden können Lehrveranstaltungen, die in den zwei letzten Semestern vor der Ausschreibung abgehalten wurden und in einem ordentlichen Curriculum verankert sind (Quellcurriculum).

Jury und Preisvergabe

Eine Fachjury, bestehend aus je einem Mitglied des Senats pro Kurie, zwei Vertreter*innen der ÖH JKU und zwei Vertreter*innen jeder Fakultät sowie der School of Education wählt aus allen eingereichten Lehrveranstaltungen nach einer formalen Vorprüfung auf Ernsthaftigkeit durch das Vizerektorat für Lehre und Studierende drei Preisträger*innen aus und begründet die Auswahl. Der Senat, die ÖH JKU und die Fakultäten sowie die School of Education haben die zu entsendenden Jury-Mitglieder bis spätestens 31.12. dem Vizerektorat für Lehre und Studierende bekanntzugeben. Der Preis wird im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Veranstaltung vergeben und ist zudem mit EUR 500 dotiert.

Kategorie Studierenden-Award - Kepler Student Award for Excellent Teaching

Grundidee und Kriterien

Diese Kategorie dient der Prämierung von Lehrveranstaltungen, welche durch Studierende mit der besten Bewertung in der Befragung zur Lehre versehen wurden. Herangezogen wird das Resultat der abschließenden Gesamtbewertung, in welcher die Studierenden in einer Frage die Lehrveranstaltung insgesamt bewerten. Aufgrund der schwierigen Vergleichbarkeit wird eine Lehrveranstaltung pro Fakultät sowie der School of Education prämiert.

Ausschreibung

Eine Ausschreibung ist nicht notwendig, da die Ergebnisse direkt vorliegen und entsprechend herangezogen werden. Ab Beschluss wird eine entsprechende Benachrichtigung bei der Befragung für die Teilnehmer eingebaut.

Einreichung

Analog zur Ausschreibung ist eine separate Einreichung nicht notwendig, einbezogen werden Lehrveranstaltungen, die in den vor der Ausschreibung gelegenen zwei letzten Semestern abgehalten wurden, ausreichend Rücklauf für eine statistische Auswertung erreicht haben und in einem ordentlichen Curriculum verankert sind (Quellcurriculum).

Jury und Preisvergabe

Eine Fachjury ist für diesen Preis nicht notwendig, die Datenerhebung erfolgt durch das QMBW, die formale Selektion durch das Vizerektorat für Lehre. Die Preise werden im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Veranstaltung vergeben und sind zudem mit je EUR 500 dotiert.