Go to JKU Homepage
The Circus of Knowledge
What's that?

Institutes, schools, other departments, and programs create their own web content and menus.

To help you better navigate the site, see here where you are at the moment.

Sparkling Science 2.0.

 

The project aims to spark a sense of curiosity and passion to discover science and conduct research at an early age by encouraging young people to regard themselves as a proactive force, actively capable of making changes and making a difference.

As part of the Citizen Science (CS) initiative, this project identifies the potential to sustainably shape education and drive the advancement of innovative methods forward by means of active involvement and bringing art, science and education together. As part of the Artistic Research program at participating schools, 980 students help to prototypically test transdisciplinary research formats.

Accompanied by mentors (professionals in the arts, science, academia, and education), the school students (Citizen Artists) embark on a journey of discovery and research to explore scientific/academic topics using the medium of art. The research journey includes tranforming scientific/academic topics into theater performances, dance productions, or musical interpretations that can be created and experienced together.

 

Funding provided by

BMBWF / Procesing OeAD Center for Citizen Science

Project Duration

Sept.1, 2022 - Aug. 31, 2025

When it comes to scientifically monitoring Artistic Research formats, our scientific research actively involves over 60 school students. Is it possible to spark more interest in science and STEM-centered topics? From a scholastic perspective, can we identify the impact to general learning behavior? Can Artistic Research formats help us avoid/compensate for socio-economic and gender-specific disadvantages? Students and educators will be actively involved in developing research criteria, the theoretical structuring to scientifically evaluate the project, along with collecting and analyzing data. The idea is to facilitate extensive CS involvement throughout the entire research process and apply qualitative and quantitative research methods. The selected partner schools are primarily peripheral schools.

The "Training of Trainers" program (workshops for educators together with artists), the Youth Advisory Board, publicly presenting artistic and scientific research, international networking, and a scheduled conference not only include more CS involvement, but also guarantees CS involvement beyond the project duration timeline as well as strengthening the topic in a more sustainable way.

Costs & Fees

Schools and students are not subject to any costs or fees. Project funding is available to cover any travel/excursion costs and performance tickets.

Artistic Research

Artistic Research workshops take place twice a week during the Summer Semester (for a seven-week period). The workshops are a part of the schools' regular lesson plans. Week 8 of the workshop is Project Week giving participants an opportunity to focus more extensively on finalizing presentations about the project outcomes.

Scientific Research

The year-long Scientific Research program was created for students in the 7th class at AHS schools. There are three workshop 'block sessions' where students learn more about conducting scientific/academic work and learn more about the philosophy of science along with qualitative/quantitative research methods. The students are then more actively involved in developing the research topic along with the theoretical parameters regarding scientific/academic evaluation and by collecting data.

Our Team

Name Position
Airan Berg, B.A. Managing Director; Lead Artistic Research
Univ. Prof. Dr. Christoph Helm Head of the Department of Education Research; Lead Scientific Research

Dipl. Ing. Christopher Lindinger, MAS

Vice-Rector for Innovation and Researchers
Mag. Kerstin Pell, BA Team member of ART & SCIENCE
Mag. Patricia Stark Team member of CITIZEN SCIENCE
Julia Lauss, MEd Scientific project assistant, project coordinator
Nora Dirisamer, B.A. Theater educator project member

 

[Translate to Englisch:] Bild der Team-Mitglieder [Translate to Englisch:] Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ch.Helm, Airan Berg, B.A., Julia Lauss, MEd, Nora Dirisamer, B.A.




Successful kickoff for "Sparkling Science 2.0

  1. On 08.11.2022 our official kick-off meeting took place. Teachers from the schools involved in the project and the entire Sparkling Science 2.0 team came together at the Circus of Knowledge: In addition to getting to know each other, the main focus was on a detailed presentation of the project and on answering all questions. The teachers, for their part, provided insights into the working methods of the schools and presented special features of their classes. Possible topics for the Artistic Research Workshops were considered, and organizational essentials were collected and clarified.

    We are all very much looking forward to an exciting research journey together, based on intensive exchange between art, science and teaching.

    Let's learn from each other, inspire each other and make research come alive!

    The following schools are our partners for the next 3 years of the project:

    Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

     

    Artistic Research:

    AHS Europagymnasium Auhof, Aubrunnerweg 4, 4040 Linz, SKZ: 401546

    BRG Landwiedstraße, Landwiedstraße 82, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401146

    LSZ für Hör- & Sehbildung, Kapuzinerstraße 40a, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401063

    MS 5 Otto-Glöckel Schule, Dürrnbergerstraße 1, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401032

    MS 17 Neue Heimat, Flötzerweg 88, 4030 Linz, SKZ: 401102

    VS 2 Bertha von Suttner Schule, Dornacherstraße 33, 4040 Linz, SKZ: 401541

    VS Haag/Leonding, Herderstraße 36, 4060 Leonding, SKZ: 410381

     

    Scientific Reserach:

    HAK/HAS Bad Ischl, Grazer Straße 27, A-4820 Bad Ischl, SKZ: 407488

    ROSE ORG Linz, Tabakfabrik Linz, Peter-Behrens-Platz 4 / EG / Haus Havanna, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401196

Zur JKU Startseite
Zirkus des Wissens
Was ist das?

Institute, Schools und andere Einrichtungen oder Angebote haben einen Webauftritt mit eigenen Inhalten und Menüs.

Um die Navigation zu erleichtern, ist hier erkennbar, wo man sich gerade befindet.

Sparkling Science 2.0.

 

Früh Begeisterung und Neugier an Forschung und wissenschaftlicher Entdeckung zu wecken und junge Menschen darin zu bestärken, sich selbst als Changemaker und aktiv Handelnde zu begreifen, ist zentrale Zielsetzung des Projekts.

In der Verschränkung von Kunst, Wissenschaft und Bildung und der aktiven Einbeziehung der Citizen Science (CS) sieht das Projekt das Potenzial zukunftsfähige Bildung zu gestalten und die Umsetzung innovativer Methoden nachhaltig zu voranzutreiben. Im Rahmen der Artistic Research an den beteiligten Schulen werden mit 980 Schülerinnen und Schülern transdisziplinäre Forschungsformate prototypisch erprobt.

Geleitet von Mentorinnen und Mentoren (Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Kunst, Wissenschaft, Bildung) begeben sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler (Citizen Artists) auf eine Forschungsreise und ergründen wissenschaftliche Themen mit den Mitteln der Kunst. Diese Forschungsreise beinhaltet die Übersetzung wissenschaftlicher Themen in sinnlich erlebbare und gemeinsam gestaltete Theater-, Tanz- oder Musikalische-interventionen.

Fördergeber

BMBWF / Abwicklung OeAD-Zentrum für Citizen Science

Projektlaufzeit

1.9.2022 - 31.8.2025

Die Scientific Research bindet über 60 Schülerinnen und Schüler aktiv in die wissenschaftliche Begleitung der Artistic Research Formate ein. Konnte das Interesse an Wissenschaft und MINT-Themen gesteigert werden? Welche Auswirkungen auf das generelle Lernverhalten sind im Schulkontext auszumachen? Können sozioökonomische und geschlechterspezifische Benachteiligungen durch Artistic Research Formate vermieden/kompensiert werden? Die Schülerinnen und Schüler sowie Lehrerpersonen werden in die Entwicklung der Forschungsfragen, die theoretische Rahmung der wissenschaftlichen Evaluation des Projektes sowie in die Datensammlung und Auswertung eingebunden. Damit wird eine umfassende Einbeziehung der CS in den gesamten Forschungsprozess sichergestellt. Zur Anwendung kommen qualitative und quantitative Forschungsmethoden. Als Partnerschulen wurden primär periphere Schulen ausgewählt.

Das Training of Trainers Programm (Workshops für Lehrpersonen mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern), das Youth Advisory Board, die öffentliche Präsentation der Artistic- und Scientific Research, die internationale Vernetzung sowie die geplante Tagung ermöglichen einerseits die Beteiligung weiterer CS, garantieren eine Einbindung der CS über die Projektlaufzeit hinaus und stärken das Thema nachhaltig.

Kosten

Für die Schulen und Schüler*innen entstehen keine Kosten. Kosten für An- und Abreise und Tickets für den Vorstellungsbesuch und die Exkursion werden vom Projekt übernommen.

Artistic Research

Die Workshops im Rahmen der Artistic Research finden jeweils im Sommersemester über die Dauer von sieben Wochen zwei Mal die Woche geplant. Die Workshops finden als Teil des Regelunterrichts an den Schulen statt. Die achte Woche des Workshops ist als reine Projektwoche gedacht, um intensiv an der Finalisierung der Präsentation der Projektergebnisse zu arbeiten.

Scientific Research

Die Scientific Research richtet sich an Schüler*innen der 7. Klasse AHS und erstreckt sich über ein ganzes Schuljahr. In drei Workshop-Blöcken lernen die Schüler*innen Techniken wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens kennen und erhalten Einblick in die Wissenschaftstheorie sowie qualitative/quantitative Forschungsmethoden. Die Schüler*innen werden dann aktiv in die Entwicklung der Forschungsfrage und der theoretischen Rahmung der wissenschaftlichen Evaluation eingebunden und helfen bei der Datenerhebung.

Team

Name Funktion
Airan Berg, B.A. Projektleitung; lead artistic research
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christoph Helm Leitung der Abteilung für Bildungs­forschung; Lead scientific research

Dipl.-Ing. Christopher Lindinger, MAS

Vizerektorat für Innovation und Forscher*innen
Mag.a Kerstin Pell, BA Teammitglied ART & SCIENCE
Mag.a Patricia Stark Teammitglied CITIZEN SCIENCE
Julia Lauss, MEd wissenschaftliche Projektmitarbeiterin, Projektkoordinatorin
Nora Dirisamer, B.A. theaterpädagogische Projektmitarbeiterin

 

Bild der Team-Mitglieder Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ch.Helm, Airan Berg, B.A., Julia Lauss, MEd, Nora Dirisamer, B.A.




Gelungener Startschuss für  "Sparkling Science 2.0"

  1. Am 08.11.2022 fand unser offizielles Kick-Off Meeting statt. Lehrpersonen der am Projekt beteiligten Schulen und das gesamte Team von Sparkling Science 2.0 kamen im Zirkus des Wissens zusammen: Neben dem gegenseitigen Kennenlernen stand vor allem auch die detaillierte Vorstellung des Projektes und die Klärung offener Fragen im Mittelpunkt. Die Lehrpersonen ihrerseits gewährten Einblicke in die Arbeitsweisen der Schulen und stellten Besonderheiten ihrer Klassen vor. Mögliche Themengebiete für die Artistic Research Workshops wurden ins Auge gefasst, sowie organisatorisch Wesentliches erhoben und geklärt.

    Wir freuen uns alle sehr auf eine spannende gemeinsame Forschungsreise, geprägt von intensivem Austausch zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Lehre.

    Lasst uns voneinander lernen, uns inspirieren und Forschung erlebbar machen!

     

    Folgende Schulen sind für die kommenden 3 Jahre der Projektlaufzeit unsere Partner:

     

    Artistic Research:

    AHS Europagymnasium Auhof, Aubrunnerweg 4, 4040 Linz, SKZ: 401546

    BRG Landwiedstraße, Landwiedstraße 82, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401146

    LSZ für Hör- & Sehbildung, Kapuzinerstraße 40a, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401063

    MS 5 Otto-Glöckel Schule, Dürrnbergerstraße 1, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401032

    MS 17 Neue Heimat, Flötzerweg 88, 4030 Linz, SKZ: 401102

    VS 2 Bertha von Suttner Schule, Dornacherstraße 33, 4040 Linz, SKZ: 401541

    VS Haag/Leonding, Herderstraße 36, 4060 Leonding, SKZ: 410381

     

    Scientific Reserach:

    HAK/HAS Bad Ischl, Grazer Straße 27, A-4820 Bad Ischl, SKZ: 407488

    ROSE ORG Linz, Tabakfabrik Linz, Peter-Behrens-Platz 4 / EG / Haus Havanna, 4020 Linz, SKZ: 401196



 Kick-Off Meeting in Bildern