Go to JKU Homepage
What's that?

Institutes, schools, other departments, and programs create their own web content and menus.

To help you better navigate the site, see here where you are at the moment.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Philipp Homar

Bild Philipp Homar

About the person


Prof. Dr. Philipp Homar holds the chair of Intellectual Property at the Institute of Corporate Law since March 2021.

His research interests lie in intellectual property and competition law as well as in related areas of law. His publications and lectures focus on challenges digitalization and virtualization pose under intellectual property law (especially copyright law) and on the protection of trade secrets ("know-how protection").

Philipp Homar studied Law as well as Theatre, Film and Media Studies, both at the University of Vienna, Business Law at the Vienna University of Economics and Business and completed research stays at the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition (Munich) and at the Law and Technology Centre of the University of Hong Kong. He is a regular speaker at international and national conferences.

Mission statement 

Research: The research activities of the chair focus on intellectual property rights (copyright, patent, trademark, design law) as well as on related areas of law. Research is conducted on legal challenges that intellectual property faces in a networked society and economic order, as well as on requirements that the legal framework must meet in order for intellectual property to promote technical, creative and artistic innovations. In the context of interdisciplinary research projects, research is also conducted on the interrelations between law, technology and society.

Teaching: Teaching activities contain the international, European and national legal foundations. An essential cornerstone is the integration of current legal, technical and economic developments.Special emphasis is placed on making the background and protective purposes of intellectual property understandable to students and on enabling them to deal with legal problems they face in their professional, academic and private life.

Dissemination: The research results obtained at the chair are disseminated primarily through publications and presentations at national and international conferences. In order to promote young researchers, the research assistants of the chair are gradually integrated into the dissemination practice and supported in establishing their own research and publication activities. In addition, research findings are made accessible to civil society through outreach activities ("third mission") and scientifically founded contributions are made to the legal policy discourse.

Copyright Information

Zur JKU Startseite
Institut für Unternehmensrecht
Was ist das?

Institute, Schools und andere Einrichtungen oder Angebote haben einen Webauftritt mit eigenen Inhalten und Menüs.

Um die Navigation zu erleichtern, ist hier erkennbar, wo man sich gerade befindet.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Philipp Homar

Weitere Informationen zur Person

Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Philipp Homar ist seit 1.3.2021 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Intellectual Property am Institut für Unternehmensrecht. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen im Immaterialgüter- und Wettbewerbsrecht sowie in angrenzenden Rechtsbereichen. Schwerpunkte seiner Publikations- und Vortragstätigkeit liegen auf den immaterialgüterrechtlichen (insbesondere urheberrechtlichen) Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung und Vernetzung und im Bereich des Schutzes von Geschäftsgeheimnissen („Know-how-Schutz“).

Philipp Homar studierte Rechtswissenschaften sowie Theater- Film- und Medienwissenschaft, beides an der Universität Wien, sowie Wirtschaftsrecht an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien. Er absolvierte Forschungsaufenthalte am Max-Planck-Institut für Innovation und Wettbewerb (München) sowie am Law and Technology Centre der University of Hong Kong und ist regelmäßiger Vortragender auf internationalen und nationalen Konferenzen.

Leitbild des Lehrstuhls

Forschung: Im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsaktivität des Lehrstuhlteams stehen die Schutzrechte des Geistigen Eigentums (Urheber-, Patent-, Marken-, Designrecht) sowie angrenzende Rechtsbereiche. Erforscht werden die rechtlichen Herausforderungen, denen Geistiges Eigentum in einer vernetzten Gesellschaft und Wirtschaftsordnung begegnet, sowie die Anforderungen, welchen die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen genügen müssen, damit Geistiges Eigentum technische Innovationen sowie das kreative und künstlerische Schaffen fördert. Im Rahmen interdisziplinärer Forschungsprojekte wird zudem an den Zusammenhängen zwischen Recht, Technik und Gesellschaft geforscht.

Lehre: In der Lehre werden die internationalen, europäischen und nationalen Rechtsgrundlagen des Rechtsbereichs vermittelt. Ein wesentlicher Eckpfeiler besteht in der Einbindung von aktuellen rechtlichen, technischen und wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen. Besonderer Wert wird darauf gelegt, den  Studierenden auch Hintergründe und Schutzzwecke des Rechtsgebiets verständlich zu machen und sie in die Lage zu versetzen, (immaterialgüter-)rechtliche Problemstellungen ihres beruflichen, universitären und privaten Alltags eigeninitiativ zu begegnen.

Dissemination: Die am Lehrstuhl erarbeiteten Forschungsergebnisse werden vor allem durch Publikationen sowie Vorträge auf nationalen und internationalen Konferenzen verbreitet. Zur Nachwuchsförderung werden die wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter*innen des Lehrstuhls schrittweise in die Disseminationspraxis eingebunden und bei der Etablierung einer eigenen Forschungs- und Publikationstätigkeit unterstützt. Ergänzend werden Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung durch Outreach-Aktivitäten („Third-Mission“) für die Zivilgesellschaft erschlossen und wissenschaftlich fundierte Beiträge zum rechtspolitischen Diskurs geleistet.

Informationen zu den Fotorechten