close

Department members

Head of the Department of Economics

Name Room Ext. E-Mail
Rudolf Winter-Ebmer, Univ.-Prof. Dr. K150D +43 732 2468 7366 rudolf.winterebmer@jku.at
       

Academic staff

Name Research interests
Alexander Ahammer, PhD

● Applied Microeconometrics
● Labor Economics
● Health Economics

Rainer Bartel, a.Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Program coordinator Bachelor WIWI

● Macroeconomics
● Economic Policy
● Schools and Methods in Economics

René Böheim, Assoz.Prof. Dr.

● Applied Microeconometrics
● Labor Economics
● Family Economics
● Industrial Relations

Michael Brottrager, MSc  
Eduard Brandstätter. a.Univ.-Prof. Dr.

● Economic Psychology

Johann K. Brunner, o.Univ.-Prof. DDr.
Head of the Institute of Public Economics

● Public Economics
● Taxation
● Social Policy

Christoph Eder, PhD

● Growth and Development
● Economic History
● Spatial Econometrics

Matthias Fahn, Dr.

● Industrial Relations
● Contract Theory
● Behavioural Economics
● Corporate Finance

Lorenz Fischer, PhD ● Applied Microeconometrics
● Migration
● Spatial Econometrics
● Regional Disparities

Wolfgang Frimmel, PhD
Program coordinator PhD Economicscs

● Applied Microeconometrics
● Aging and Labor Economics

● Health Economics
● Family Economics

Jochen Güntner, Dr.
Program coordinator M.Sc. Economics,
M.Sc. Management and Applied Economics

● Applied Macroeconometrics
● Macroeconomics
● Monetary Economics
Dominik Grübl, Mag. ● Labor Economics
● Sports Economics
Franz Hackl, a.Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Responsible for admissions in economics

● Industrial Organization
● Environmental Economics
● Health Economics

Martin Halla, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Head of the Institute of Economic Policy

● Applied Microeconometrics
● Labour Economics
● Health Economics
● Family Economics

Nicole Halmdienst, Mag.  
Michael Hölzl-Leitner, MSc

● Industrial Organization

Jakob Kapeller, Dr. ● Economic Policy
● Heterodox Economics
Mario Lackner, Dr. ● Applied Microeconometrics
● Industrial Organizations
● Public Economics
● Sports Economics
Michael Landesmann, o.Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Head of the Institute for Economic Theory and Quantitative Research 
● Macroeconomics
● Migration
● Growth and Development
● Economic Integration
Michael Lapinski, MSc ● Applied Microeconometrics
● Labour Economics
● Health Economics
● Educations Economics
Johannes Lukas, MSc  
Karin Mayr-Dorn, Assoc.Prof. Dr.

● International Economics
● Public Economics
● Labor Economics

Johannes Muthers, Dr. ● Industrial Organization

Susanne Pech, a.Univ-Prof. Dr.
Responsible for recognition of Economics courses/exam

● Public Economics
● Optimal Taxation
● Insurance Economics

Dieter Pennerstorfer, Dr. ● Industrial Organization
● Spatial Econometrics

Gerald Pruckner, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Head of the Institute of Health Economics

● Health Economics
● Behavioural Economics

● Aging

Michael Radhuber, Mag.  
Nicole Schneeweis, Dr. Mag. ● Applied Microeconometrics
● Labor Economics
● Education Economics
Thomas Schober, PhD ● Applied Microeconometrics
● Health Economics
● Political Evaluation
Bernhard Schütz, Dr. ● Macroeconomics
● Income and Wealth
Kajetan Schweighofer  
Doris Weichselbaumer, Dr. ● Labor Economics
● Feministic Economics and Discrimination
Rudolf Winter-Ebmer, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Head of the Department of Economics
Head of the Institute of Labor Economics
● Labor Economics
● Health Economics
● Education Economics
● Political Evaluation
● Personnel Economics
Katrin Zocher, MSc

● Health Economics
● Applied Microeconomics

Martina Zweimüller, Dr. ● Labor Economics
● Health Economics
● Education Economics

Secretary

Name Room Ext.*) E-Mail Institute
Heidelinde Derntl-Pechak K117A 7350 heidelinde.derntl-pechak@jku.at Institute for Economic Theory and Quantitative Research
Karina Dorfer K102A 7381 karina.dorfer@jku.at Institute of Public Economics
Ines Meister K149D 7367 ines.meister@jku.at Institute of Labor Economics
Marsela Meshini K149D 7367 marsela.meshini@jku.at Institute of Labor Economics
Ursula Mittendorfer-Juen K146C 7337 ursula.mittendorfer-juen@jku.at Institute of Economic Policy
Anita Pointner K120B 7320 anita.pointner@jku.at Institute of General Economic Theory
Daniela Roidinger K255C 7776 daniela.roidinger@jku.at

Institute of Health Economics

Sophie Stumpfl K146C 7337 sophie.stumpfl@jku.at Institute of Economic Policy

*) Phone: +43 732 2468 Ext.

Professors Emeriti

Name E-mail
Kazimierz Laski, em. Univ.-Prof. Dr.  
Kurt W. Rothschild, em. Univ.-Prof. Dr.  
Günther Pöll, em. Univ.-Prof. Dr. guenther.poell@jku.at
Friedrich Schneider, em. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c.mult. friedrich.schneider@jku.at

Former Department Members

Name Name
José-Ignacio Antón, PhD Artem Kochnev, MSc.
Eddy Bekkers, Dr. Wilhelm Kohler, Dr.
Reiner Buchegger, Dr. Johannes Paha, Dr.
Paul Eckerstorfer, Dr. Hans-Georg Petersen, Dr.
Franz Eder Philipp Poyntner, Mag.
Josef Falkinger, DDr. Martin Riese, Dr.
Octavio Fernández-Amador, Dr. Johann Scharler, Dr.
Switgard Feuerstein, Dr. Mario Schnalzenberger, Dr.
Joseph F. Francois, Dr. Michael Topf
Wilfried Fuhrmann, Dr. Herbert Walther, Dr.
Simon Gächter, Dr. Christoph R. Weiss, Dr.
Markus Hofreither, Dr. Bengt-Arne Wickström, Dr.
Christina Judmayr, Mag. Christine Zulehner, Dr.
Richard Kiener, MMag. Josef Zweimüller, Dr.
Robert Klinglmair, Mag.