Go to JKU Homepage
Faculty of Medicine
What's that?

Institutes, schools, other departments, and programs create their own web content and menus.

To help you better navigate the site, see here where you are at the moment.

Our Team.


Please send inquiries by e-mail to: ethikkommission@jku.at .

The office is open Monday to Thursday between 9:00 AM and 12:00 PM.


Name Phone E-Mail Address

Univ. Prof. Dr. Johannes Fischer

0732/2468 - 8790


Deputy Chair

Name Phone E-Mail
MR Dr. Herbert Stekel, LL.M 0732/2468 - 8790  herbert.stekel@jku.at, opens in new window

Office Manager

Name Phone E-Mail

Eva-Maria Vormündl, PM.ME

0732/2468 - 8794


Office Administration

Name Phone E-Mail
Susanne Plakolb, BA 0732/2468 - 8793 susanne.plakolb@jku.at

Dr. Renate Hammer

0732/2468 - 8792 renate.hammer@kepleruniklinikum.at
Anastasiia Iuzdova, BSc 0732/2468 - 8795 anastasiia.iuzdova@jku.at, opens in new window

Members of the Ethics Committee

Chair: Univ. Prof. Dr. Johannes FISCHER


Deputy Chair: MR Dr. Herbert STEKEL

Deputy Chair: Priv. Doz. Prim. Dr. Johann KNOTZER


Additional Physician Members


Priv. Doz. Prim. Dr. Johann KNOTZER Wels-Grieskirchen Hospital, Institute of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine II
Priv. Doz.in Dr. Sonja HEIBL Wels-Grieskirchen Hospital, Department of Internal Medicine IV

MR Dr. Herbert STEKEL, LL.M.

Deputy Representative of the Medical and Chemical Laboratory Diagnostics Division

Prim. Dr. Wolfgang LOIDL

Ordensklinikum Linz Ltd. Elisabethinen, Urology and Andrology

Priv. Doz. Dr. Maria HALLER, MSc, MBA

Ordensklinikum Linz Ltd. Elisabethinen,

Internal Medicine 3

Univ. Prof. Prim. Dr. Johann AUER

KH St. Josef Braunau, Internal Medicine 1

Prim. Dr. Dominik WILD

Sisters of Mercy Hospital Ried, ENT Department
Univ. Prof. Dr. Andreas GRUBER JKU, Department of Neurosurgery


Nursing Representatives



Kepler University Hospital, NMC, Nursing Management

Deputy.: Mag. Andrea VORABERGER

Wels-Grieskirchen Clinic, Nursing Management

Legal Experts


Dr. Renate HAMMER

JKU Faculty of Medicine, Ethics Committee

Deputy Chair: Dr. Jutta STARLINGER

Kepler University Hospital, MC III, Compliment and Grievance Management




Mag. Alexandra POINTINGER

Kepler University Hospital, MC III, Hospital Pharmacy

Deputy.: Mag. Mario RAFFL

Kepler University Hospital, MC III, Hospital Pharmacy

Deputy.: Mag. Evamaria DEDL

Kepler University Hospital, MC III, Hospital Pharmacy

Psychologists and Psychotherapists


Prim. Dr. Hertha MAYR

Kepler University Hospital, Neuromed Campus, Department of Psychosomatics

Deputy.: Mag. Michaela STADLER-SCHÖNY

Kepler University Hospital, Neuromed Campus, Clinical Psychology

Patient Representative Members


Mag. Michael WALL

Office of the Upper Austrian Government, Patient and Care Representation

Deputy.: Mag. Dagmar TAUCHER

Office of the Upper Austrian Government, Patient and Care Representation

Disability Organization Representatives



Legal Expert

Dr. Klaus VOGET

President of the Austrian Civil Invalid Association

Pastoral Care


Dr. Karin HARTMANN Catholic Pastoral Care

Mag. Herbert ROLLE

Protestant pastoral care

Senior Representatives


Brigitta STEFAN, MSc


Deputy.: Mag. Regina HÖLLER




A. Univ. Prof. Mag. Dr. Werner PÖLZ

JKU, Applied Systems Research and Statistics

Deputy.: Assoz. Univ.Prof. Mag Dr. Helga WAGNER

JKU, Institute for Applied Statistics

Technical Safety Officers

DI. Josef MÜHLLEITNER                                                     TÜV Austria Service Ltd.

Stv.: DI. Georg ZEINDLINGER                                                   TÜV Austria Service Ltd.


Additional Physician Members in Respective Specialized Fields

Univ. Prof. Dr. Matthias BOLZ                     JKU, University Clinic for Ophthalmology u. Optometry

Prim. Dr. Christian DOPLER                        DESA Salzkammergut-Kl. Vöcklabruck, Anesthesiology and General Intensive Care

Univ. Prof. Dr. Josef DONNERER                JKU Faculty of Medicine, Institute of Pharmacology

Univ. Prof. Prim. Dr. Franz FELLNER          Kepler University Hospital GmbH, MC lll, Central Radiology lnstitute

Prim. Dr. Martin GENGER                            Pyhrn-Eisenwurzen Hospital Steyr, Internal Medicine I

Prim. Dr. Michael GUGER                            Pyhrn-Eisenwurzen Clinical Center Steyr, Department of Neurology

Prim. Dr. Werner HOCHMEIR                      Rohrbach Hospital, Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics

Prim. Dr. Robert HöRANTNER                    Barmhezige Schwestern KH Ried, Ophthalmology

Univ. Prof. DDr. Wolfram HÖTZENECKER  JKU, Department of Dermatology and Venereology

Prim. Dr. Christa KUBASTA                    Kepler University Hospital Ltd., Institute for Med. and Chem.
Laboratory Diagnostics - Blood Depot - Tissue Bank

MR Univ. Prof. Dr. Oskar KWASNY             Trauma Surgery

Univ. Prof. Dr. Rupert LANGER                   JKU, Department of Pathology and Molecular Pathology

Prim. DDr. Michael MALEK                          Kepler University Hospital Ltd., MC III, Clinic for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Priv.-Doz. Prim. Dr. Nenad MITROVIC         Salzkammergut Clinical Center Vöcklabruck, Neurology

Prim. Dr. Christian MITTERMAIER               Kepler University Hospital Ltd., MC III., Institute for Physical Medicine


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alexander MOSCHEN          JKU, Department of Internal Medicine with focus on Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Prim. Dr. Peter NEUNER                              Freistadt Hospital, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Priv.-Doz. Prim. DDr. Wolfgang PÖSCHL    Wels-Grieskirchen Clinic, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Prim. Dr. Peter REINELT                              Convent Hospital of the Brothers of Mercy Linz, Department of Ophthalmology

Prim. Dr. Christoph RöPER; LL.M                Kepler University Hospital Ltd., MC lll.

                                                                      Department of Acute Geriatrics and Remobilization

Prim. Dr. Walter SCHAUER                           Wels-Grieskirchen Hospital, Dept. of Surgery ll

Prim. Dr. Alexander SKREINER                    Wels-Grieskirchen Clinic, Physical Medicine

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Manfred SCHMIDT                  Kepler University Hospital Ltd., MC III., Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Clemens SCHMITT                 JKU, Department of Hematology and Internal Oncology

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Rainer SCHöFL                      Ordensklinikum BHS, lnternal Medicine lV

Prim. Dr. Michael SONNBERGER                 Kepler University Hospital Ltd., NMC

                                                                       Institute for Neuroradiology

Priv.-Doz. Prim. Dr. Stefan STÄTTNER        Salzkammergut-Klinikum Vöcklabruck, Department of Surgery

OA Dr. Martin WALD                                     Wels-Grieskirchen Hospital, Department of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine

Prim. Dr. Uwe WINTERGERST                     Hospital St. Josef Braunau, Department for Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andreas ZIERER                   JKU, Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery

Prim. Dr. PauI ZWITTAG, MBA MSc             Kepler University Hospital Ltd., MC lll.

                                                                      Ear, Nose and Throat Clinic