Go to JKU Homepage
LIT Open Innovation Center
What's that?

Institutes, schools, other departments, and programs create their own web content and menus.

To help you better navigate the site, see here where you are at the moment.

Art & Science at the JKU.

In all areas of endeavor, creativity comes about by bringing together what usually is held apart.
(Taylor, Mark C., 2010)

Creativity serves as a driving transformative force in support of radically new things and is a key incentive in artistic and scientific discovery. Creativity facilitates uncovering, visualizing and creating new contexts. As the current challenges we face become increasingly complex - particularly in the areas of social and digital transformation - the ability to come up with new ideas and move away from the so-called 'beaten path' is more important than ever before. One has to step back and examine problems in their entirety from a multidimensional perspective; the way we handle and approach one disciplinary area is not enough.

We need both science and art - not just the one or the other. But above all, we need the mutual interactions and synergies they bring with each other. Issues we face today urgently need a more transdisciplinary perspective as well as integrative research across subject areas, disciplinary boundaries, and research that takes social developments into account. In regard to a more future-oriented outlook on "Responsible Technology", pursuing these goals is key when it comes to research and development.

Initiated in 2019, the Alliance for Creative Innovation between Johannes Kepler University Linz and the University of Applied Arts Vienna became a starting point as well as a declaration to bridge the gap between art and science, shaping cutting-edge education while simultaenously initiating a trend reversal when it comes to research and development.

Projects

Art & Science @ the JKU.

Projects, Residencies, LIT Calls, Events,...
Manifest

Innovation through Universitas

Creative Innovation Alliance

Network

Our Cooperation Partners.
JKU x Ars Electronica

Ars Electronica Festival.

The acclaimed festival at the JKU
Education & Research

TRANSFORM.

New Directions in Research & University Education

Contact

Do you have questions, ideas, or would just like to talk with us?

Zur JKU Startseite
LIT Open Innovation Center
Was ist das?

Institute, Schools und andere Einrichtungen oder Angebote haben einen Webauftritt mit eigenen Inhalten und Menüs.

Um die Navigation zu erleichtern, ist hier erkennbar, wo man sich gerade befindet.

Art & Science an der JKU.

In all areas of endeavor, creativity comes about by bringing together what usually is held apart.
(Taylor, Mark C., 2010)

Kreativität als transformative Kraft von radikal Neuem ist zentraler Stimulus künstlerischer wie wissenschaftlicher Entdeckung. Beide vermögen durch Kreativität neue Zusammenhänge aufzudecken, zu vergegenwärtigen und zu stiften. Angesichts der zunehmenden Komplexität aktueller Herausforderungen, sozialer und digitaler Transformationen ist diese Fähigkeit, Neues zu erdenken und Wege abseits gewohnter Pfade einzuschlagen, wichtiger denn je. Problemstellungen müssen in ihrer Gesamtheit und ihrer Mehrdimensionalität in den Blick genommen werden, Werkzeuge und Annäherungen aus der Sicht einer Disziplin greifen zu kurz.

Deshalb brauchen wir nicht mehr nur Wissenschaft und Kunst, sondern vor allem auch deren gegenseitige Befruchtung und Synergie. Transdisziplinarität – integrative Forschung über die fachlichen, disziplinären Grenzen hinweg mit Blick auf gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen – ist dringend erforderlich. Im Sinne einer zukunftsgewandten „Responsible Technologie“ kommt diesem Streben in Forschung und Entwicklung eine zentrale Rolle zu.

Die 2019 initiierte Allianz für kreative Innovation zwischen der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz und der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien ist Startpunkt und Bekenntnis, diesen Brückenschlag zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft zu vollziehen, zukunftsweisende Bildung zu gestalten und eine Trendwende in Forschung und Entwicklung einzuleiten.

Themenabend: AI in Medicine Austausch über die eigene Disziplin hinaus
am 28.09.2022 um 17:30 Uhr im Zirkus des Wissens!

Jetzt anmelden!
Projekte

Art & Science @ JKU.

Projekte, Residencies, LIT-Calls, Events,...
Manifest

Innovation durch Universitas.

Allianz für kreative Innovation

Netzwerk

Mit wem wir kooperieren
JKU x Ars Electronica

Ars Electronica Festival.

Das renommierte Festival am JKU Campus
Lehre & Forschung

TRANSFORM.

Neue Wege in Forschung & universitärer Bildung

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen, Ideen oder möchten sich mit uns austauschen?