Transformation Studies
Art x Science for Transformation

A new "Transform!" degree program - a joint program by the University of Applied Arts Vienna and the Johannes Kepler University Linz.

Imagination, a visionary mindset, creativity, and a passion to conduct experiments. Two universities are bringing art and science together, creating a new space to support the synergy needed to address tomorrow's challenges.

The climate crisis, digitalization, and social change processes are ever-present, directly impacting our everyday lives. If we are to continue to not only effectively respond to these new times and conditions but also positively shape change, we need the right tools and skill set, along with a new understanding and more expertise.

 

Art cross Science!

The Johannes Kepler University Linz and the University of Applied Arts Vienna have joined forces to create a space at the crossroads of art and science by creating an inter-university "Art x Science School for Transformation" (pronounced Art cross Science School for Transformation).

 

Art x Science School for Transformation

Transform! Studies

Bachelor's in Transformation Studies. Art x Science

PhD Transformation Studies. Art x Science

Location

Vienna & Linz

Language

English

Program Start

Fall 2023

Art x Science School for Transformation

The School pools the universities’ strengths and expertise in order to confront the pressing issues of our time as well as viably shape the interdisciplinary future of education and research.

 

Students will learn how to harness the transformative creative force by combining art and science to discover how to come up with solutions and effectively confront global, ecological, social, and digital change processes.

The New "Transform! Studies"

The English-language Bachelor's degree progam "Transformation Studies. Art x Science" and the Ph.D. program "Transformation Studies. Art x Science" are scheduled to kick off in the Fall of 2023. The Senate will approve the final curriculum in the Spring of 2023 and detailed information regarding registration and enrollment will be available soon. Sign up to be on our mailing list now!

What Makes the "Transformation Studies. Art x Science" Program Special

  • Tools and Skills to Help You Be Creative
    The program introduces you to a unique combination of artistic and academic/scientific approaches, methods, and strategies, enabling you to understand and analyze current transformations (climate change, digitalization, etc.) independently come up with solutions. In effort to help you develop new ideas and solutions, students learn more about the transformative power of creativity, how to think "outside-of-the-box", and how to apply cross-disciplinary approaches.
  • Spanning from Media Theory to Robotics - A Unique Interdisciplinary Approach
    The program includes courses in artificial intelligence, media theory & aesthetics, social entrepreneurship, robotics, artistic & creative strategies, social & economic sciences, as well as innovation law. In addition to in-depth expertise and a broad understanding of art context and science, the program also focuses on honing your creative, social, and communication skills.
  • New Formats to Acquire a More Sustainable Understanding
    Right from the start of the semester, you will experience a program that not only features innovative educational formats (in-class and online), but also focuses on project-oriented learning. You can take advantage of an opportunity to actively take part as well as enjoy the freedom to define your own thematic focus. 
  • Two Universities, Two Locations of Study
    You study in both Vienna and in Linz, benefitting from the different learning spaces and workshops at both universities.

Your Career Prospects

The program prepares you to be a collaborative part of complex transformative projects and processes. As part of an interdisciplinary team, you will be in a unique position to take on roles that include being an initiator, facilitator, coordinator, moderator, or a mediator.

You are qualified to work in diverse areas (public institutions, the academic/scientific sector, the private sector,...) as well as support, design, and take responsibility for projects involving a wide range of participants/stakeholders.

Graduates of the Bachelor's degree program are qualified to pursue interdisciplinary graduate degree programs and courses at the JKU, the Vienna University of Applied Arts, as well as at other universities.

An Alliance in Support of Creative Innovation

In the past, the JKU and like-minded partners formed an alliance to support creative innovation. Under the motto "Innovation through Universitas", a joint manifesto was introduced. 

 

[Translate to Englisch:] Icon Planeten

Art & Science at the JKU

[Translate to Englisch:] Icon Schreibfeder

Why Study at the JKU?

[Translate to Englisch:] Icon Wegweiser

The University of Applied Arts Vienna

Transformation Studies
Art x Science

Die neuen Transform! Studien - eine Kooperation der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz.

Vorstellungskraft, visionäres Denken, Kreativität und Experimentierlust. Zwei Universitäten verbinden Kunst und Wissenschaft und schaffen neuen Raum für Synergien, um die Herausforderungen von morgen anzugehen.

Klimakrise, Digitalisierung und soziale Veränderungsprozesse sind allgegenwärtig und haben direkte Auswirkungen auf unseren Alltag. Um in dieser neuen Zeit, unter neuen Bedingungen, handlungsfähig zu bleiben und positive Veränderungen zu gestalten, braucht es neues Wissen und neue Fähigkeiten.

Art x Science!

Die Johannes Kepler Universität Linz und die Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien schaffen dafür gemeinsam einen Raum an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft und gründen die interuniversitäre "Art x Science School for Transformation" (sprich Art cross Science School for Transformation).

Art x Science School for Transformation

Transform! Studien

Bachelor Transformation Studies. Art x Science

PhD Transformation Studies. Art x Science

Studienorte

Wien & Linz

Sprache

Englisch

Studienbeginn 

Herbst 2023

Art x Science School for Transformation

Die School bündelt die Stärken und Kompetenzen beider Universitäten mit dem Ziel, den dringenden Fragen unserer Zeit gegenüberzutreten und interdisziplinäre, zukunftsfähige Lehre und Forschung zu gestalten. 

Als Studierende*r wirst du Kreativität als transformative Kraft zu nutzen wissen. Du kombinierst hier Kunst und Wissenschaft, um Entdeckungen zu machen, die den vielen globalen, ökologischen, sozialen und digitalen Veränderungsprozessen entgegentreten sollen.

Art x Science JKU und Angewandte Worldmaking. ©Mesic

Die neuen "Transform! Studien"

Im Herbst 2023 starten der englischsprachige Bachelor "Transformation Studies. Art x Science" sowie das PhD-Studium "Transformation Studies. Art x Science." Das Curriculum dazu wird im Frühjahr 2023 vom Senat beschlossen, hier gibt es dann auch weitere Infos zur Anmeldung. Melde dich jetzt für unsere Mailinglist an.

Was "Transformation Studies. Art x Science" besonders macht

  • Werkzeuge zum Gestalten
    Du lernst eine einzigartige Kombination von künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Herangehensweisen, Methoden und Strategien kennen. Diese befähigen dich, aktuelle Transformationen (Klimawandel, Digitalisierung etc.), zu verstehen, zu analysieren und selbst gestaltend an Lösungen zu arbeiten. Durch die transformative Kraft der Kreativität, ein „outside-the-box“-Denken und eine disziplinenübergreifende Arbeitsweise lernst du neue Ideen und Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln. 
  • Von Medientheorie bis Robotik - einzigartige Interdisziplinarität
    Das Studium beinhaltet u.a. Lehrveranstaltungen aus den Themenfeldern der Künstlichen Intelligenz, Medientheorie und -ästhetik, Social Entrepreneurship, Robotics, Künstlerischen und Kreativen Strategien, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften oder Innovationsrecht. Neben deinem fundierten Fachwissen und einem breiten Kontextwissen aus Kunst und Wissenschaft ist die Ausbildung kreativer, sozialer und kommunikativer Fähigkeiten im Studium zentral.
  • Nachhaltiger Wissenserwerb durch neue Formate
    Innovative Lehrformaten (in Präsenz und online) sowie projektorientiertes Lernen vom ersten Semester an, zeichnen das Studium aus. Du hast auch die Möglichkeit, aktiv mitzugestalten und die Freiheit, selbst thematische Schwerpunkte zu setzen. 
  • Zwei Unis, zwei Studienorte
    Du studierst in Wien und in Linz und profitierst von den unterschiedlichen Lernräumen und Werkstätten beider Universitäten. 

Deine Berufsaussichten

Das Studium qualifiziert dich für die Mitarbeit in komplexen transformativen Projekten und Prozessen. Du bist bestens darauf vorbereitet, in einem interdisziplinären Team Rollen wie Initiator*in, Ermöglicher*in, Koordinator*in, Moderator*in, Vermittler*in oder Facilitator zu übernehmen.

Du wirst befähigt, in unterschiedlichen Bereichen (Öffentliche Einrichtungen, Wissenschaftlicher Bereich, Privatwirtschaft ...) zu arbeiten und dort Projekte mit unterschiedlichen Akteur*innen / Stakeholdern zu begleiten, zu gestalten, umzusetzen und Verantwortung zu übernehmen.

Der Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums qualifiziert dich auch für interdisziplinäre Masterstudien und -lehrgänge an der JKU und Angewandten sowie an weiteren Hochschulen.

Art x Science JKU und Angewandte Nofretete v. Fouad Samy Ismael/Studio TransArts, Produktion: Angewandte Robotics Lab, 2020 © die Angewandte/Philipp Hornung

Die Allianz für kreative Innovation

Angewandte und JKU schmiedeten schon in der Vergangenheit eine Allianz für kreative Innovation. Unter dem Motto "Innovation durch Universitas" entstand dadurch ein gemeinsames Manifest. 

Icon Planeten

Art & Science an der JKU

Icon Schreibfeder

Warum an der JKU studieren?

Icon Wegweiser

Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien