Welcome to the JKU University Senate!

In addition to the Rectorate and the University Council, the University Senate is one of the university's highest governing bodies.

The Academic Senate at the Johannes Kepler University Linz consists of 26 university faculty members, each elected for a three-year term of office. The distribution is comprised of all university employee groups and is as follows:

  • 13 representatives of university professors
  • 6 representatives of university associate professors and academic faculty members
  • 6 student representatives
  • 1 representative for general university personnel

The members of the University Senate will serve a term of office from October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2025.


University Senate


Johannes Kepler University Linz
Altenberger Straße 69
A-4040 Linz/Austria


Schloss Auhof, Ground Floor, Room 0002

Office Hours

Mon: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tues: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wed: 8:00 AM -12:00 PM
Thurs:8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Fri: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM


+43 732 2468 3351
Elias Häfele
+43 732 2468 3353
Elke Mayr



University Senate - Duties & Responsibilities

The University Senate at the Johannes Kepler University is subject to the following duties and responsibilities as outlined in the Univer­si­ties ­Act, opens an external URL in a new window:

  • Submit and amend JKU Linz statutes as proposed by the Rectorate
  • Approve the draft of the Development Plan and the Organizational Plan submitted by the Rectorate

  • Approve the job profile for the position of University Rector

  • Draft a triple proposal to the University Council to elect an University Rector

  • Submit a response and position statement to proposed candidates for the position of University Rector and Vice-Rectors

  • Change the size of the University Council and elect members

  • Actively take part in the habilitation procedure and faculty member appointment procedure

  • Submit expert opinions for preliminary grievance procedures for study affairs

  • Submit and alter the curricula pertaining to academic degree programs and post-graduate programs
  • Appointing collegiate bodies who have or do not have decision-making power, creating guidelines for collegial body activities such as approving the implementation of resolutions by decision-making collegiate bodies
  • Creating a working group for equal opportunities
  • Nomi­nate members for the arbitration committee

Senate Meetings during the 2023/24 Academic Year

  • October 17, 2023
  • December 5, 2023
  • January 23, 2024
  • March 19, 2024
  • May 14, 2024
  • June 18, 2024

Our Members and Commissions