Whistleblower System.

For whom is the Johannes Kepler University's whistleblower system intended?

Do you have any information or knowledge of violations against Union law at the Johannes Kepler University Linz? Your tip-off contributes significantly to ensuring legally compliant and ethical conduct at  the JKU.

Employees and external members at the Johannes Kepler University Linz can use this reporting system to report any violations of Union law. In addition to this system, students can contact the Austrian Student Union, opens an external URL in a new window to report any violations.

 

How can I report an incident?

You can use the e-mail address below to report any (suspected) violations as well as substantiated suspicions of misconduct. Information you provide can help uncover internal misconduct and potential risks to ultimately develop preventative measures.

 

Send an e-mail to:

whistleblowing@jku.at

describing the incident in as much detail as possible.

During the reporting process, you may be asked to attach documents relating to the outlined facts. A secure data room will be created to submit encrypted reports. You can use any current web browser is suitable to access the data room.

When submitting your report, you can decide whether or not you wish to submit your information anonymously or use your name. Regardless of what you decide, we will ensure confidentiality and meticulous processing. During the course of processing the report, we will carefully examine each reported case and, if necessary, initiate corresponding follow-up action. 

What kind of protection can whistleblowers expect to receive?

Under the EU Whistleblower Directive, in order to be protected as a whistleblower, your tip must be submitted in a minimum of one of the following reporting categories:

 

  1. Public procurement
  2. Financial services, financial products and financial markets, and preventing money laundering and financing terrorism
  3. Infringements against financial interests pertaining to the European Union
  4. Infringements of internal market rules
  5. Public health
  6. Environmental protection
  7. Privacy and personal data protection and security of network and information systems
  8. Product safety and conformity
  9. Consumer protection
  10. Transportation safety
  11. Radiation protection and nuclear safety
  12. Food and feed safety, animal health and welfare

The EU Whistleblower Directive stipulates that whistleblowers themselves - as well as intermediaries, colleagues and relatives - are to be protected from any adverse consequences. In this regard, the employer is not permitted to take the following legal steps:

  • Terminate whistleblower
  • Initiate disciplinary action
  • Deny promotion
  • Reduce salary
  • Reduce the scope of the whistleblower's duties and responsibilities
  • Submit a negative performance review

In addition and in accordance with Art. 14 of the GDPR, any employee accused by a whistleblower has the right to be informed of the circumstances and content of the submitted report. In addition, the employee has the right to information in accordance with Art. 15 of the GDPR with regard to his/her processed data.

Hinweisgebersystem - Whistleblowing.

An wen richtet sich das Hinweisgebersystem der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz?

Haben Sie Kenntnis von Verstößen gegen das Unionsrecht an der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz? Ihr Hinweis ist ein wichtiger Beitrag für rechtskonformes und ethisches Verhalten an der JKU.

Dieser Meldeweg steht allen Mitarbeiter*innen der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz sowie Externen zur Verfügung, um Meldungen mit Informationen über Verstöße gegen das Unionsrecht abzugeben. Studierende finden in der ÖH eine geeignetere Ansprechstelle, können aber auch hier Hinweise einmelden.

Wie kann ich einen Vorfall melden?

Sie können unten angeführte E-Mail Adresse zur Meldung von (mutmaßlichen) Verstößen und begründeten Verdachtsmomenten von Fehlverhalten nutzen. Ihr Hinweis kann dabei helfen, interne Missstände und Risiken aufzudecken und Maßnahmen zur Vermeidung zu entwickeln.

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Meldung an

whistleblowing@jku.at

und beschreiben Sie den Vorfall dabei so detailliert wie möglich.

Sie werden im Zuge des Meldeprozesses gegebenenfalls aufgefordert, Unterlagen zum geschilderten Sachverhalt zu übersenden. Hierfür wird für Ihre Meldung ein gesicherter Datenraum eingerichtet, über den die verschlüsselte weitere Kommunikation erfolgt. Für den Zugriff auf den Datenraum ist jeder aktuelle Webbrowser geeignet.

Bei Ihrer Meldung können Sie entscheiden, ob Sie Ihren Hinweis namentlich oder anonym abgeben wollen. In jedem Fall sichern wir Ihnen eine vertrauliche und sorgfältige Bearbeitung zu. Wir werden im Zuge der Abarbeitung jeden gemeldeten Hinweis sorgfältig prüfen und gegebenenfalls entsprechende Folgemaßnahmen in die Wege leiten. 

Welchen Schutz genießen Hinweisgeber*innen?

Um als Hinweisgeber*in durch die EU-Whistleblower-Richtlinie geschützt zu sein, muss Ihr Hinweis zumindest eine der folgenden Meldekategorien betreffen:

  1. öffentliches Auftragswesen
  2. Finanzdienstleistungen, Finanzprodukte und Finanzmärkte sowie Verhinderung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung
  3. Verstöße gegen die finanziellen Interessen der Europäischen Union
  4. Verstöße gegen die Binnenmarktvorschriften
  5. öffentliche Gesundheit
  6. Umweltschutz
  7. Schutz der Privatsphäre und personenbezogener Daten sowie Sicherheit von Netz- und Informationssystemen
  8. Produktsicherheit und –konformität
  9. Verbraucherschutz
  10. Verkehrssicherheit
  11. Strahlenschutz und kerntechnische Sicherheit
  12. Lebensmittel- und Futtermittelsicherheit, Tiergesundheit und Tierschutz

Die EU-Whistleblower-Richtlinie schreibt vor, dass Hinweisgeber*innen selbst, aber auch Mittler, Kolleg*innen und Verwandte vor Nachteilen geschützt werden müssen. Daher sind z. B. folgende rechtliche Schritte des Arbeitgebers nicht zulässig:

  • Hinweisgeber*in kündigen
  • Disziplinarmaßnahmen einleiten
  • Beförderung verweigern
  • Gehalt kürzen
  • Aufgabenbereich von Hinweisgeber*innen verringern
  • negative Leistungsbeurteilung erteilen

Darüber hinaus hat ein*e Arbeitnehmer*in, der/die von einem*r Hinweisgeber*in beschuldigt wird, nach Art. 14 DSGVO das Recht über die Umstände und Inhalte der Verarbeitung zu erfahren. Außerdem steht dem/die Arbeitnehmer*in der Auskunftsanspruch nach Art. 15 DSGVO in Bezug auf seine/ihre verarbeiteten Daten zu.